Last Night's Sunset At Eagle Falls, Lake Tahoe

Yesterday, the sunset forecast on the MySunset app was looking good, even though there were hardly any clouds in the sky mid-day. I decided to grab my gear and make the 50 minute drive to a favorite spot, Eagle Falls above Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe. The snow is still melting around here but it wasn't a huge winter, the falls were flowing big but not the biggest I've seen them.

It's not quite tourist season up here, and it was a Thursday so there were a few other groups of people there, but not the crazy crowds that the falls get in the summer. I arrived to the falls a couple hours before sunset. It was nice to sit there for a bit, just enjoying the scenery.

Once the sunset show started, I was really glad I made the drive over to the falls. It was a good one!

Eagle Falls sunset 1.jpg

Shot with a Canon 5DS R and 16-35mm lens, set at 19mm. This is many vertical images, stitched together to create one very high resolution panoramic wide angle image. The ISO was 400, the aperture was f14, and each exposure was 1.6 seconds long. A graduated neutral density filter was used on the front of the lens in order to darken the sky a bit and balance out the foreground exposure with the sky exposure.

20210506_193553.jpg

Here's a little behind the scenes look at where I was lucky to hang out for a couple hours. It was beautiful but it sure was loud. I guess it's a good thing you can't hear all that noise when you view the photo, it makes for a much more peaceful scene without it...

20210506_200032.jpg
Oh, I should mention... About a month ago, I purchased a new tripod and ball head. I'm loving this system! It's a Manfrotto MT055CXPRO4 carbon fiber tripod with a Really Right Stuff BH-55 ball head. It's been great, my only complaint is that the leg lock levers pinch my fingers on a regular basis and I end up being in pain for about 5 minutes every time it happens... But I'm not returning it, it's a keeper.

20210506_195948.jpg

Thank you for looking. Have a great weekend. And I hope all you mom's out there have an extra special Sunday. Cheers!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo200.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency