Big Meadows Campground and Hell Hole Reservoir Photos

It was sad to see all the burnt trees, but at the same time, I thought they looked beautiful among all the spring green growth.

I posted some cell phone family photos of Big Meadows Campground and Hell Hole Reservoir yesterday, below are some shots I got with the Canon 5DS R. A fire had come through the campground a couple years ago and created a very interesting look to the area. I was chatting with the campground host about it, he thought I was crazy when I said I actually thought it looked incredible even though it was sad. Well... what do you think?

_Q1A7495.jpg

The image above was shot on a Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens set at 28mm. ISO 50, f/18, and it was a 20 second exposure. A tripod and a graduated neutral density filter were used.

_Q1A7331.jpg

After a couple margaritas, I felt inspired to do some "Light-painting" with the burnt tree trunks. The exposure times were 1/15 of a second, and the camera was tilted upward during the exposure. It's a fun look and I though the black tree trunks made it a bit more unique.

_Q1A7346.jpg

_Q1A7379.jpg

Hell Hole Reservoir was about a 10 minute drive from the campground, I was only there during mid-day light and it was always while fishing or having fun with friends so not a lot of DSLR photos were taken. But here's a couple I shot that I was happy with.

_Q1A7285.jpg

_Q1A7283.jpg

It was a beautiful lake but I could have done it much more justice had I been there during better lighting conditions. Next time...

Thank you for looking and have a great day!

Scott Thompson
www.ScottShotsPhoto.com

portraitandlogo200.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency