Photo Quest for this week: Bokeh - My Photos

Hello friends.

Glass photography is a great idea for so many reasons. It's a little different from regular photography, but if you've got a cool idea for some photos that are somewhat similar to it, you can achieve something really special. Check out this (DUSYT) but yet colorful glass photography shoot with depth of field!

This post is in response to the "Photo Quest for this week: Bokeh", mission as assigned by the @qurator team. You can read the initial post at the link HERE.

My entry to this week's competition is the first image located here. While the subject is the glass, I feel as though the dust might take away from the appeal. When shooting, I thought the dust may add some story to the image, like a Ying and Yang thing, colorful glass and gray dust… But I am not sure if it reads that way.

20220113_103734-01.jpeg

The other images are from the same series. I was inspired by the colors and shapes I saw in some stained-glass windows in my town. I liked the idea of trying to create similar effects with glass plates and light. I feel like these images turned out really well, and I am happy with how they came out over all.

20220113_103726-01.jpeg

No matter what color you want to paint, you can always rely on glass to make a statement. The vivid and dynamic swirls of a Carnival Glass pitcher or bowl can be the perfect backdrop for colorful flowers, or the neutral tones of a grand cru wine set can set the tone for a romantic evening.

Today we'll mix it up and create some unique art with colorful carnival glass.

20220113_103740-01.jpeg

Anytime I see glass like this, I'm reminded of a myth that I was told about glass. That is a very, very slow moving liquid... I found out later in life that this was not true and that glass is not a liquid at all.

20220113_103747-01.jpeg

I did have a lot of fun trying to capture some fun angles and designs with these flutes and vessels of multicolored glass.

20220113_103820-01.jpeg

While at the time, I did see a little dust on them, I was hoping it would add to the overall effect. Like in this one it looks like little mountain climbers climbing up the side of the Matterhorn. I think if I was to do the shoot again, I would try to clean the glass, to focus more on the colors and the abstract shapes.

20220113_103829-01.jpeg

Back in the day, Carnival glass such as these, was and is both a sensory and visual delight, along with being one that makes a statement about the owner's wealth. Today that last part isn't necessarily as true.

20220113_103712-01.jpeg

However, Carnival glass has always been a popular decorative choice. I mean, just look at these multitudes of colors and different angles and textures.

20220113_103755-01.jpeg

From what I remember, the name, Carnival Glass, was given because the patterns were inspired by the colors and textures of the carousel. I could be wrong about that.

20220113_103758-01.jpeg

Carnival glass is a very interesting material. It offers a complex coloration that is very desirable for collectors.

20220113_103804-01.jpeg

Personally, I enjoy the different rainbow colors that are generated when light is reflecting and shining through the other pieces.

20220113_103842-01.jpeg

This photo shoot is a reminder of the unique beauty and quirkiness of glassware. It's hard not to be amazed by the texture and color of this red carnival glass that contrasts so well against glass of a different color and texture. This is a real eye-opener and a fun way to enjoy carnival glass every day.

I hope you're inspired to do something fun with your own collection at home!

Thanks for taking time to view these pictures and hope to see you again soon!


Divider.png

Thankyou.jpg

RoamingSparrow.png
SpectraVentures.png

Travel Photos:@RoamingSparrow
Photo Repository:Roamingsparrow.SmugMug.com

Divider.png


Services I Use and Recommend:

1.png2.png
5.png4.png
linuix.pngdbuzzBanner.png

Help Support Ongoing Content

Bitcoin (BTC)18zopjg9Y2VA1ouCqCZapN3UzdpK3UnMdm
Ethereum (ETH)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd
Binance Smart Chain (BSC)0x34F6e26d9730b934Af026A7de727fb8fC08204Dd

Divider.png

Thanks for reading my post, you inspire me to keep posting!

Thank you for your support!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency