Foggy Photography

Foggy Photo Walk

Yesterday we had proper fog here in the South East of the UK. It was too good an opportunity to miss, so I cycled up to the park for a wander with my camera.

We get mist sometimes in the mornings, but it always burns off as soon as the sun has risen. This fog stuck around for AGES. I really appreciated being able to enjoy it without having to run around like a headless chicken trying to take some decent shots before the light changed.

I always head to the woodland areas when the fog is thick as usually the mist doesn't reach these areas. Fog also makes trees look totally amazing.


Birch Trees

These birch trees looked gorgeous with the silver trunks and dripping leaves. I tried a few compositions and have posted 3 below. I haven't decided which I prefer and am interested in what other people think.

Fog-1.jpg

ISO 100, f/16, 70mm, 0.5s


Fog-3.jpg

ISO 100, f/16, 86mm, 0.5s


Fog-4.jpg

ISO 100, f/16, 70mm, 0.8s


Mystery Tree

This tree really jumped out at me. I have no idea what sort of tree it is but it looked beautiful. The autumn colours are really starting to show, although the season is much latter than usual and there is still loads of green on the trees.

Fog-6.jpg

ISO 100, f/16, 52mm, 0.8s


Technical Note

I took all these shots at an aperture setting of f/16 as they were all at slightly telephoto focal lengths, and I wanted to keep as much sharpness though out the images. This was particularly important for the shots of the birch trees, as it was important that the furthest trunk was as in focus through the fog.

Fingers crossed for more conditions like this when the autumn colours are at their best...


I took a short phone clip which gives a good idea of what the conditions were like.


Thanks for reading and happy Sunday!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency