Venus and Cramps - self portraits

Oh, it's been a long time since I've been in front of the camera. Not that it was planned this time, but when I designed my Halloween costume at the last minute, and then got stomach cramps at the every last minute, the only thing I could do was flutter around the apartment in Venus costume, in slow motion.

I'm not a fan of masked balls, but I appreciate creativity; this is the second time I've dressed up for this event. The first time I was a zombie, no one spoke to me because, let's be honest, the make-up was really realistically awful. I made sure my skin looked really rotten and worn, I wore ripped suspenders with a plaid shirt.

In our country, Halloween is celebrated for commercial reasons; otherwise, a similar holiday is held in our region sometime in March; by similar, I mean masks, celebration, and fire lighting. Otherwise, the holiday is observed to herald the arrival of spring.

Venus, the Roman goddess of love, beauty, wealth, and hedonism in general, was the last-minute costume choice.
Otherwise, I'm double; I carry one on my back, so that is why I picked it. After nearly two hours of looking for a suitable toga-like dress, I also tried with a form - to wrap the sheet around myself - without success, and I didn't like any of the variants. One thing I managed to find were golden leaves, similar to laurels.

So, yes, I had two curtains at home that were very similar to tulle, but much softer and more comfortable for the skin. Lace short dress for underneath and voila! Venus is ready, with a little make-up and a pair of heels.

The party failed, of course, the only function I could perform involved a minimum of movement.But it was completely pointless for me to dismount immediately, when in fact I was just getting ready.

Let's do a photo shoot!

I turned on one light, positioned it on my left side, sat down on the floor, and positioned the camera away from me. The phone is connected via a bridge to the device, the easiest way to trigger and control it.

Of course, the ISO was too high, resulting in the small graininess, but I liked it during editing because it felt rustic. The shimmer on the tulle added its charm. I avoided excessive skin retouching because I dislike doing so; small changes and cleaning are acceptable, but nothing unrealistic. Of course, this only applies to my own portraits.

The main point for me was to have some fun when everything else had already been beep-beep. I enjoy playing with light, especially when it comes to low-key photography. Most of the time it is uncomfortable, because you cannot photograph some angles yourself and you really want those ones!

I took off my divine creation, removed my make-up, put on thick socks, and devoted myself to retouching after about twenty shuffles around the room in the name of not annoying myself any more than I already am.

Big fan of faceless photos. The last photo taken that evening, also one of my favorites.

When was the last time you saved your day?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency