Planting Turmeric

I tend to buy this powdered spice in bulk, never thinking if I could grow it where I live. Well I was delighted to find out they do indeed grow in my climate. It is right on the edge of being able to grow, so hopefully the winter will be nice to it until it can get stronger. If they do die from the winter I may just end up planting them a few feet deep where they should be protected from the freeze.

Adding alot of hardwood chips on top of them will help with the protection from the frosts and freezes we get. And if they survive the plant is a perennial meaning it survives year after year. And eventually the wood chips I put on top of them will break down and feed the growing plant.

Maybe in a few years I can harvest some roots, dry them out and then make my own Turmeric powder. I wonder how it will taste being so fresh compared to what I buy online and at markets. One thing about growing my own food is I have learned there are flavors in my grown food that is lost when bought at most markets. The taste of the plant changes within a few days of harvest, though most people have to wait a week or longer to eat a plant that was harvested. Making it less tasty I would think.

Another reason I am growing Turmeric in the wood chips is for more easy harvest. Just like with Sweet Potatoes, they form underground as well as grow leaves on top. So by growing them in wood chips I can harvest them without digging in the dirt with shovels and possibly damaging the underground plant parts.

I probably will not harvest for a few years, as I want them to grow big and strong. So I will need to buy my spices from others until then. Between Pepper and Turmeric I fly through the stuff so will be nice eventually to maybe make my own.

So we shall see if they survive through the winter, if not Ill try again deeper. And if that does not work, then well maybe its just not meant to be in this region. But I think with some special over wintering techniques I may be able to get them to survive and give me an awesome spice to cook with.

LBRY Video Link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency