ARE YOU LIVING CONSCIOUSLY? WHAT DOES LIVING CONSCIOUSLY MEAN TO YOU?

I came across this post and i thought it would be a cathartic experience writing this entry, given the events of the past few weeks.

you can read the post and drop your entry as well.

LIVING CONSCIOUSLY

For me, living consciously entails being present. By present, I mean living in the moment and not somewhere in the past or future but now. This might sound like an easy task but I know a lot of people (including myself) live in between the past and future.

I have a friend who is always fussing about the future or the mistakes he has made in the past. It is almost impossible to enjoy his company and I often find myself playing the role of his therapist.

It is an almost impossible task being present and practicing conscious living. Oftentimes we are bugged by the history of the past and the hope of the future. There are also a million and one reasons not to be happy and content now.

Life can be very unpredictable. Even when we try to practise mindfulness, life throws things our way that distracts us and if we are not careful we lose control of our lives and become slaves to time and the cares of the world.

How do I practise conscious living?

I think I try to immerse myself in everything I do whether it be a conversation with a friend or just hanging out with family. I try to be present and not distracted which is a big task for me because I am always trying to multitask.

One major way we rob ourselves of a full and immerse experience is by multitasking. I consider multi-tasking a distraction because you can never give your 100 percent while doing several things at once.

For instance, while writing this post I was texting my girlfriend. Though I can juggle both very well, I realized that one of the tasks suffers at some point.

It is either I am replying to my girlfriend's text late or my thought process starts to lag and I spend more time writing, which is neither enjoyable nor efficient. By trying to do too much at once we rob ourselves of the beauty of life.

Another great way I practise living consciously is through gratitude. This is quite ironic because I used to be a worrisome person at some point in my life. It did not only affect my mental health but also my physical health.

I would often worry myself into depression and sickness. I also isolated myself from the world and the people who cared about me. Those were very tough times for me as an individual and I almost lost it all.

However, ever since I started practising gratitude and mindfulness my life has been a lot richer. Being grateful helps you take stock of the person you are now and it is a beautiful thing knowing that you have time against all odds to be where you are currently.

Gratitude fills you with hope and the courage to keep on living. It is a positive kind of mindfulness that enriches not only your life but also the lives of the people around you.

So these are the ways I live consciously in a world full of distraction. It is not an easy task and there are days when I have to put in the extra effort but it is always worth it. Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency