This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Reiteration and Clarification Conference

1000006495.png

Hello, Hive friends! How are you feeling today? I hope you are doing well right now. Let me share with you one of my attended events this month of September. The reiteration and clarification conference for Technology and Livelihood Education/Technical-Vocational-Livelihood coordinators for Balamban, Liloan, and Medellin Sub-offices.

On the first week of September, I received a memorandum stating about the said conference. I forwarded it to our school head since the two of us are expected to attend. He told me that we will be attending it and our travel expenses will be reimbursed since it needs to be approved at the division office. The venue of the conference is Kawit National High School, Medellin, Cebu. I'm not familiar with the location, so I asked my co-worker about its direction once I arrived at the heart of Medellin Town.

1000006184.jpg

1000006183.jpg

September 6, 2024, has come, and I woke up early so that I can prepare the meals for my wife and the kids and send them to school before I go to the conference. I leave Tabogon town before 7 o'clock. I estimated my travel with an hour riding my motorcycle. I thought I could easily reach the destination, but I did not. I went the other way instead of going to the venue. When I checked the Waze app, I got the wrong direction, so I went back as fast as I could so that I could not be late.

I arrived at Kawit National High School at 8:00 o'clock. I asked the guard if I could park inside the school premises. Luckily, the motorcycles can easily park inside the school premises, while the 4-wheeled vehicles need to park at the roadside near the school. When I get in, I have observed that the teachers and school heads are lining up for the registration of participants. I have heard the emcee announce the location of their comfort rooms and free water stations. They also announced that there will be a free lunch sponsored by the Municipal Mayor of Medellin.

1000006187.jpg

Registration of Participants.

1000006189.jpg

Intermission number from Kawit NHS Performing Arts.

1000006220.jpg

Sir Garry's talk.

1000006221.jpg

When it was my turn filling up the registration forms, the program started with the Philippine National Anthem, followed by the Sugbo Hymn, and their Municipal Hymn by the Kawit National High School Choir. When I went to our designated area, my school head told me that he had assigned a seat for me. I sit beside the coordinator from another school under the Tabogon District. Other coordinators and school heads sit at the designated area for the Balamban Sub-office since the seats in our area were already occupied.

The Public Schools District Supervisor of Medellin District delivered her words of welcome. She gladly welcomed us and assured us that the foods they prepared were enough for all of us. They are very thankful to their municipal mayor for sponsoring the meals for our lunch. Without any further ado, our EPSvr for TLE/TVL reiterated the DepEd Order Number 30 series 2017. He said that our conference is to give clarification on all our doubts and questions about the immersion of the TVL learners. It is due to lots of inquiries on how schools should immerse learners with different immersion partners located in the locality or nearby towns and cities.

1000006209.jpg

My school head asked a question to sir Garry about the insurance of immersion learners.

In our case, our school does not offer TVL track. I wish to offer one of the strands of TVL, but our school could not cater to it due to a lack of classrooms and tools and equipment. Even for my cookery class, I find it difficult during our laboratory sessions due to lack of tools and equipment. We only have two units of gas range with oven, but only one of them is functioning because the other one has no gas. Despite the fact that we do not offer TVL in our school, I still listened to the discussion of Sir Garry because the DepEd Order also states the immersion guidelines for the academic track.

In the middle of his talk, the chief of the Curriculum Implementation Division, Ma'am Flores, together with the Araling Panlipunan/Social Studies Education Program Supervisor, arrived and were given time to deliver an inspirational message. They encourage us to be attentive to the discussions so that we can apply the guidelines well in our respective schools. They also told us to enjoy our conference and avoid stress so that we can be happy about our job.

Sir Garry continued on the reiteration of DepEd Order Number 30 and gave us examples of what other schools are doing, like the schools coming from Camotes Island and other towns. He expressed his gratitude, and he's even proud of the achievements of these schools. He shared it inspires us to have a best practice in our school that would enhance the life skills of the learners. He ended his talk about the DepEd order, and we took our free lunch.

1000006224.jpg

Thanks to the Municipal Mayor of Medellin for our lunch.

After having our lunch, we had the chance to have a photo opportunity, but I did not use my phone to capture it, which is why I can't share it here. I also forgot to ask for a photo from my fellow coordinators. I also had the chance to meet one of my social media friends whom I recommended to teach at the University of the Visayas-Danao City Campus during my part-time teaching of the said university way back in 2018. He is now a school head at Daanbantayan District.

In the afternoon session, a school head from Barili District rendered a song for all of us. After the song rendition, Sir Garry continued his talk on the different requirements for an additional TVL strand offering. He encouraged all schools to offer TVL to train learners for different life skills they are interested in. Sir Garry ended the conference before 3:00 o'clock to let the teachers from the islands avail the last trip of the ships going back to their respective municipalities.

There was another photo opportunity together with Sir Garry, and we also received our certificate of appearance. I then prepared myself for the quite long ride going back to Tabogon Town.

1000006230.jpg

Getting ready in going home.

It was a tiring day yet full of understanding about the DepEd Order and what are the things we need to prepare for our subject, Technology and Livelihood Education. I just hope that there will be enough budget for the life skills enhancement for all the learners so that they can become globally competitive individuals.

Thank you for reading and supporting my blog. Till next time. 🫶

Lead image was edited using Canva. Other images are mine unless stated otherwise.

1000002159.jpg