Shell Stitch


Making a shell stitch is one of the first stitches I learned from my mom back in the day. She used to make me do all the edges of her crochet doilies just for practice. She would sometimes (most of the time) frog my work to correct it but I learned nonetheless.

How to make a Shell Stitch

The main idea of a shell stitch is to make a group of crochet that would look like a shell. To do this, one simply needs to crochet several double crochets or treble crochets into one stitch. It would look like a fan or a shell in the process.

For the project I am making, I created shell stitches with 7 double crochets stitched into 1 stitch from the previous row. The succeeding rows consist of shell stitches with 5 double crochet each. I found out that after making one full row of shell stitch with 7 double crochet, it uses too much yarn and it also looks a bit too cramped. And it's one of those times that I did not feel like frogging the entire first row. I chose to move on.

You can make several variations to the shell stitch. I have another WIP with shell stitches. That one consists of four double crochets with a chain in between.

My Current WIP with Shell Stitch

Without fail, I have been singing the theme song from a famous fairy tale: Beauty and the Beast. This is not a commissioned work, but a promised outfit to my niece and goddaughter. She is going to wear it on her 7th birthday. I still have a couple of months to go but I am pressuring myself because as of right now, I am still working on the off-shoulder. I have just finished the bodice. Next would be the skirt part. Until now, my sister and I still haven't agreed if we would use tulle for the skirt or if we would go for the crochet balloon skirt.

My niece on the other hand is just too excited because she was the one who requested for the Beauty and the Beast themed party next year. As for me, I am just happy to be Fairy Godmother or in this case, Madame De Garderobe. I am a few centimeters away from completing the top part of the dress but my mind is already wandering off to the designs I am going to make for the skirt portion of this outfit.

Music Credits:

Vlad Gluschenko — (Boat)

License: CC BY 3.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/deed.en


@romeskie is a full-time stay at home mom juggling homeschooling, crocheting, and homemaking. A Business Administration graduate with a major in Marketing who ended up in the contact center industry, on the frontlines, climbing her way up to Workforce Management where she found her passion in real-time analysis and management. A once self-proclaimed careerwoman who soon realized homemaking was her real calling. Her passion varies from reading, writing, photography, and most of all, crocheting.

Connect with her through her Facebook Page: The Leftie Crocheter and on Instagram. Feel free to subscribe to her Youtube Channel: The Leftie Crocheter



Big thanks to @bearone for my Hive PH badge.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency