100 Burpees - 1st attempt


A friend visited at the weekend and told me he'd lost a stone (6.3kg) in the past month by starting to follow online workouts by Jordan Yeoh. I already have a fair number of routines but I think a change is as good as a rest and so started to look through this guys videos to see what they were all about.

A lot of the routines contain moves that appear in other workouts I've been following this year but as well as the training program, Jordan has also posted a 100 Burpees challenge. His time is a pretty amazing 5 minutes and 36 seconds, and although I have done a fair few Burpees this year, I knew I'd be nowhere near that time - but how far away would I be, if I could actually complete 100?

On watching his attempt, I noticed he took breaks (4 in total), and this seemed like a sensible approach - 10/20 seconds to catch breath and avoid passing out was going to affect the final time too much, although I do think my 6/7 breaks was one or two too many.

After completing what I thought was 100, I played the video back to count and realised a few things:

  • My form, especially with the arms is not great. Although i got pretty low with the big nose to the floor, I'm not really that parallel and this could be better.
  • I did 108 in total, 8 more than planned!

The final time for 100 was 8:49 - not too shabby for a first attempt. As you can see/hear, I am struggling for air after the first 30/40 or so and was thinking at that point that I should stop here and sit down. After that, I did 10 (or 11 due to miscounting) sets at a time, and steadily made it to the 100.

I think there is room for improvement, but I'm not desperate for another attempt anytime soon! Does anyone else fancy a go? Votes and tips and respect for anyone who tries!

Cheers

Asher

Oh, and I did set the watch to record the workout but it was having an off-day and didn't record my heart-rate properly - 90 bpm after 100 Burpees, I don't think so!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
51 Comments
Ecency