Cultural integration through dance // Integración Cultural a través del baile

Beyond the economic difficulties that lead people to migrate, modern times are permeated by an inevitable globality, where being a "citizen of the world" and living "nomadic" style has become a trend.

IMG_20181122_200516.jpg

More and more people want to experience another lifestyle and another cultural influence.

In every country you go to, you will find different ways of getting to know the culture. And as we experience them, we will merge them with our own registers and make our own versions.

This is how, by adopting cultural details, we integrate into the new social environment.

Editor de fotos_T0dpIL.png

Gastronomy, lexicon, music and dance are expressions that allow us to merge with the locals.

My favorite way to get to know the feelings and expressions of a people is dancing.

So every time I am in a new country, I like to learn its folklore.

The day after I arrived in Argentina I started taking folklore classes.

IMG_20181122_195035_2.jpg

Here, in the facilities of the public schools, during the night, there are classes for adults. Folklore and other subjects, with the intention of giving training for work.

This folklore group means a lot to me. My first friendships in this country and my first contact with the culture.

My classmates were of very varied ages but I tell you that this is a country where the concept of youth is very extended. Only after the age of 85 is a person considered "old".

The folklore classes became for me a small family and a wonderful fun.

IMG_20181122_195316_2.jpg

Having snack with them at 7:30 in the evening and listening to them talk about their customs was great for a newcomer like me.

I learned a lot about dancing and I was eager to learn even more. Especially because my classmates dance beautifully.

Most of the dances I learned are what we would call "ballroom" dances.

IMG_20181203_185849_2.jpg

Waltz dances, meaning that the basic step is the one used for the waltz. And most of them were for dancing with a partner.

The most exciting thing was to perform with the group.

We made 2 presentations inside the school, for the classmates and some invited friends. And I also performed with them in a theater, in a meeting of adult folklore schools.

It was a very nice experience and I am very happy to have taken advantage of it in my first months in the country, when my life rhythm was not so complicated.

Screenshot_2021-06-14-15-50-52_2.png

However, I can't stop thinking about dancing again with this group and under the direction of the wonderful teacher they have.

And I promise, in a future post, to tell you more about the spectacular people I met there.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Si quieren conocerme un poquito más, no dejen de visitar mi cuenta de Instagram @yllendiva donde también comparto mis actividades y mis sentires. (1).jpg

20201002_101558_0002_1w.png


VERSION EN ESPAÑOL

Más allá de las dificultades económicas que llevan a las personas a migrar, los tiempos modernos están impregnados de una inevitable globalidad, donde ser "ciudadano del mundo" y vivir al estilo "nómada" se ha vuelto una tendencia.

IMG_20181122_200516.jpg

Y es que cada vez más personas quieren experimentar otro estilo de vida y otra influencia cultural.

En cada país al que llegas, encontrarás diferentes formas de conocer la cultura. Y en la medida en que las experimentamos, las iremos fusionando con registros propios y haciendo nuestras propias versiones.

Es así como, adoptando detalles culturales, nos vamos integrando al nuevo entorno social.

Editor de fotos_T0dpIL.png

La gastronomía, el léxico, la música y el baile son expresiones que nos permiten fusionarnos con los locales.

Mi forma preferida para conocer los sentimientos y las expresiones propias de un pueblo es el baile.

Así que cada vez que estoy en un nuevo país, me gusta aprender su folklore.

Al día siguiente que llegue a Argentina empecé a tomar clases de folklore.

IMG_20181122_195035_2.jpg

Aquí, en las instalaciones de las escuelas públicas, durante la noche, se dictan clases para adultos. Folklore y otras materias, con la intención de dar formación para el trabajo.

Este grupo de folklore significa mucho para mí. Mis primeras amistades en este país y mí primer contacto con la cultura.

Mis compañeros de clases eran de edades muy variadas pero les cuento que este es un país dónde el concepto de juventud es muy extendido. Solo después de los 85 a una persona se le considera "grande".

Las clases de folklore se convirtieron para mí en una pequeña familia y una diversión maravillosa.

IMG_20181122_195316_2.jpg

Tomar la merienda con ellos las 7 y media de la noche y escucharlos hablar de sus costumbres fue algo genial para una recién llegada como yo.

De baile, aprendí un montón y quedé con ganas de aprender todavía más. Sobre todo, porque mis compañeras y compañeros bailan hermoso.

La mayoría de las danzas que aprendí son lo que diríamos "de salón".

IMG_20181203_185849_2.jpg

Danzas valseadas, quiere decir, que el paso base, es el que se usa para el vals. Y la mayoría, eran para bailar en pareja.

Lo más emocionante fue presentarme con el grupo.

Hicimos 2 presentaciones dentro de la escuela, para los compañeros y algunos amigos invitados. Y también me presenté con ellos en un teatro, en un encuentro de escuelas de folklore de adultos.

Una experiencia lindísima y estoy muy feliz de haber aprovechado en mis primeros meses en el país, cuando mí ritmo de vida no estaba tan complicado.

Screenshot_2021-06-14-15-50-52_2.png

Sin embargo, no dejo de pensar en volver a bailar con este grupo y bajo la dirección del profesor tan maravilloso que tienen.

Y les prometo, en un próximo post, contarles más sobre las personas espectaculares que allí conocí.

Si quieren conocerme un poquito más, no dejen de visitar mi cuenta de Instagram @yllendiva donde también comparto mis actividades y mis sentires. (1).jpg

20201002_101558_0002_1w.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency