Perspective is everything

All over the internet and media, it feels like there is nothing but a bleak picture being painted. Everyone seems to feel like we are living in the end of days.

There seems to be two sides to every issue that are becoming more and more hostile toward each other, some people worry that freedom of speech is dying, while others are worried that some ideas are poison and shouldn’t be allowed to spread.

It’s really easy to see a move away from your preferred outcome as a negative but things sway back and forth. Good news can lead to bad outcomes and bad news can lead to good outcomes. Our enemies can do more to help us than our best friends can. Look at how Hive started for a perfect example of this.

Fighting against something doesn’t always have the desired effect. I am personally done with fighting. I am building the world I want to live on, not fighting against the world I don’t, because in fighting it, I only give those who disagree with me more fuel to put onto their fire. By spreading fear I only create more things to be afraid of. I’ve given plenty of examples before, this isn’t just a metaphysical truth, it makes sense from a physical cause and effect perspective too.

When you put up big fences, your neighbors feel you have something to hide, and anyone looking to steal will make you a target. When you want to discredit someone, you make an enemy and someone looking to undermine you, you never end up convincing them or anyone else of your point.

Sometimes if you leave your so-called enemies be, they will sabotage themselves. This is particularly true for people who are being unreasonable.

That’s why I’m more concerned about the people who are fighting for a just cause but do so out of resistance and fear than those who are fighting for a cause less just. The unjust cause will fight itself if you offer an alternative.

Offering an alternative is different from fighting against something. When you are fighting against, the alternative will exist in opposition of something else and can’t offer it’s full potential. It does not represent abundance and love, only fear.

This is all pretty abstract but I myself am doing my best not to engage in debates about free speech and abuses of it.

I don’t need Hive to be the r anti-Twitter.
I don’t really want people to join because they hate other social media. I would rather they join even if they like Twitter. A decent platform doesn’t need another platform to prove how bad it is. It can convince people of its own merits.

But such is the human condition. We are so used to the drama. We can easily blame others for falling into traps but the fact is, it’s likely, we’ve also fallen into traps, some that we later realize and some that we hardly realize.

I think the important thing is to let emotions take their course but to not act until we have fully processed our emotions and calmed down first.

You can see the same kind of traps very close to home too

A bunch of people seemed sad that Hive seemed to lose its gains as Bitcoin corrected. In dollar value it seemed to be the case, but change it to bitcoin value and you can see a different picture.

02CB2FAE2D544A3E90BD5C11568A7BEF.png

Hive is still in the uptrend it started a few days ago. When I look at it in terms of dollars, I think “WTF is it gonna take to move this MF!?” But then I look in terms of BTC and say “nice trend, let’s see what happens tomorrow”.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency