The thing I hate the very most in the world…

7B41DA20-119C-404B-9DC9-D97910317F68.jpeg

I try to be all about love and appreciation. I try to step outside of myself and look at things as objectively as possible. I’m still having a subjective experience though…so maybe from an objective point outside of the ego, there is nothing wrong with complicated sign up procedures and slow customer service, but subjectively, I hate it with a passion!

I started today off particularly well. I worked on my novel for the first time in 6 months. I edited for about 3 hours and re-read everything to get ready to start writing some new chapters in the next few days.

I was planning on signing up for wifi at around 2:30 pm. The first company told us we had to pay an extra $200 for installation because our current little whatever box is incompatible with their company’s service. They also tried to suck me into some weird plans that looked like a bad deal and so I checked out another company.

Both shops had very few people but I still had to wait for an hour at each before I could talk to someone. The second company seemed to be a better deal but they were a little less clear and in the end it ended up costing a little more than the other company but they waived the installation fee.

The whole process of inquiry and signup at two shops took 3 and half hours and in the end he asked me to come back tomorrow! Arrrggg

The original plan was to come home and keep editing, but after that I am drained of inspiration. I just want to stare into space and rant about how I want to stare into space.

In Japan, it seems the cheapest wifi costs about $65 a month and it costs $100-$200 if you try to cancel. I’ve never understood how a cancelation fees are legal unless someone has moved heaven and earth to serve you and they will be making a loss if you quit. They’ll literally lose nothing if I decide to quit except for my future payments which don’t belong to them. Why is it legal to lock me into a contract like that or deny me service?

Well ok, there is an option to be able to leave the contract any time…if you pay an extra $20 a month, so in the end it’s the same….

Since I was young I could never understand how consumers put up with this. I literally stopped using internet/cell phone service except for borrowed wifi and a prepaid SIM card for 6 years because I feel like these companies rob people as much as they offer services.

But alas prepaid SIMs aren’t a thing here and I’m working almost entirely online these days, so I need the service.

The thing that angers me the most about these situations is how people general don’t see the parallels between this and corruption or scamming, and if they do they just accept it. In the first world we look at other countries and imagine that we live in much more honest and straightforward societies. There may or may not be truth to that but I feel the only thing that sets us apart is that the rules more formalized. The rules can protect you or they can destroy you. It just depends on who is writing them and what their intentions are. It’s not that corruption doesn’t exist at every level of society in the first world, it’s just formalized into processes that benefit those who already have power, and we accept it much easier because that just seems to be the way it’s done.

Calm down Zack. Everything is a learning experience. Every moment is a gift.

I miss the days where I could pay some dude for a wifi box and hook it up in 3 minutes, or buy a SIM card in the convenience store and put it in my phone and call people right away.

Is this crazy process just a Japan thing?

The good news is that I changed my mobile so that I get 20gb a month instead of 3-6 gb. No more wifi getting slow before the 20th of the month.

After this we just need to get a table and a fridge and then go to city hall and we are finally moved into the new house.

But I still have to learn how to set up automatic payments for gas, electricity and water by the end of the month.

And then after that it’s about time to start figuring out my taxes for the year so I’m not in a rush during the winter because I need to renew my visa then….oh jeez.

This is exactly why I tried to escape society for 6 years. I feel so completely drained from all these processes and in the end, I’m left wondering why it’s not easier, but there is no answer that anyone can give you that actually makes sense.

That’s just the way it is. I hope these old red tape processes are all incinerated when crypto becomes widely adopted. I can’t think of any part of living in society that I despise more.

I may have another rant like this when I have to renew my visa again, sorry about that!

🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬🤬

I’ll do my best to appreciate these terribly frustrating moments as reminders to enjoy every other moment of life to the fullest, and then try to enjoy the contrast found in these moments….but yeah, no thanks to this stuff please!

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

My music:

My lazy vlogs:

my mini-novella series:

Confessions of the Damaged - Out Now!

Confessions_of_the_Damaged_1.1_cover_final.png

🎬Self Help For Trolls

🎸I + Everything

📕 Confessions of the Damaged OUT NOW :-)

F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come join Hive Cross Culture and Join our discord

Please consider delegating to @crossculture or following our trail 🙂

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency