Urhobo - My Culture My Pride

Haha! I am finally writing about my culture. It's a great opportunity to explore one's culture and thanks to this contest, I learnt a lot about my culture and other cultures. I have always been mistaken to be an igbo girl and sometimes I love to hear people say that about me but then, I'm an Urhobo girl, a true born of the Urhobo culture. My parents are both from Urhobo culture so that makes me a true daughter of my tribe. I have always find interest in learning about my tribe and other tribes especially Igbo because I love the languages a lot.

Brown and Green Clean Grid Color Inspiration Moodboard Photo Collage.png

Well, I'm here to write about my culture and I'm so happy and excited writing this.

Urhobo is the major ethnic group in Delta state (one of the states in Nigeria, Africa). Although I don't know much about our history but a part of the history I learnt from my dad is that "The Urhobos have social and cultural affinity to the Edo people of Nigeria". No wonder I could understand some of the Edo people when they speak their language, even though not entirely but I could pick words from their sentences.

Urhobo Festivals

3b8be0a7a5b0f0722ea31160145eaa45.jpg

Most dwellings of the Urhobos are close to the Niger River (water sides) and this made most of their history, mythologies and philosophies become water related. The Urhobos have so many festivals that I have never attended before but I do hear stories of how much fun their festivals are.

One major part of the festivals are the Masquerades which I've seen only twice since I was born. They are scary but the children are hardly scared of them, I was scared of them 🙈 The festivals also include fishing, swimming and dancing contests.

130b468ef908d9336a6804326bc14138.jpg

The most celebrated festival is the Annual festival called "Ohworu" which takes place in the southern part of Urhobo area. I've never attended any of the festivals but there are so many stories about how fun and interesting it is to the Urhobos.

Urhobo Marriages

aaf87d410be95155bad7de40ad35c5b0.jpg

The Marriages of the Urhobos is a very interesting part and I love this part the most as it brings families together and happiness is being celebrated. The process of getting married starts with the groom visiting the bride's family bringing along his relatives and food items which may had been requested by the bride's family.

The formal approval for the marriage is given by bride's father or whoever is her guardian. There is a small amount that the groom is asked to pay as the bride price but he gets change or a refund before leaving with his bride. This is done to let the groom know that they're not selling out their daughter. I love this part of my culture as it shows the love of the family for their daughter who's been married out.

Urhobo Foods

7c82153f11bad40a2cb17ade60625981.jpg

I can't write about my culture without mentioning our delicacies. The popular "Banga soup" which the Urhobos call "Amiedi" originated from the Urhobo tribe. This meal is the Urhobos favorite and it is best enjoyed with starch (made from cassava plant).

Other delicacies of the Urhobos include Yam and plantain peppersoup (Ukhodo), Palm oil soup (Oghwevwri), Soup without the use of fire (Iriboto) and Soup with the use of fire (Iriboerhanrhe). Their native names may look difficult to pronounce but their taste will make you want more of them.

Some other Urhobo Cultural values

  • The Urhobos are very respectful, the women kneel to greet their elders while the men bow to greet their elders. It is also forbidden for anyone to greet in our tribe to their younger ones.

  • The Urhobos allow their men to marry more than one wife although some men stick to one wife since recently. I won't even imagine myself being a second wife to anyone so I refuse to agree to this law.

  • The Urhobos believe that wives who cheat on their husbands are punished by the spirit that joined the couple in marriage. I totally disagree with this as there is no punishment for men who cheats, it's unfair to me.

These are just a few of the cultural values I know about my Tribe. I will like to invite @mmykel to participate in this contest. You may click Here for instructions.

Thanks for reading, visit for more of my blogs

Image 1 was designed using Canva app
Image source 2
Image source 3
Image source 4
Image source 5

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency