The bridge that leads to... nowhere. Hitachiota bridge, Japan.

Today, as I was scrolling through my old photos form the trips to Japan, back in 2011, I remembered one trip to a very interesting place. It’s a bridge, suspension bridge. A very nice and probably expensive project, and this particular bridge leads literally to nowhere.

img_4206.jpg
Source: https://www.ana.co.jp/en/jp/japan-travel-planner/ibaraki/0000017.html

Well, it’s not exactly nowhere, the beginning of the bridge is at the end of a motorway road, while the other side leads to the nearby hill. The only thing that is on the hill, is a small temple... nothing else.

img_4203.jpg
Source: Personal photos.

And if in other countries there will be not a single thought of building of such an expensive bridge, only to connect the road with a small temple, in Japan there is not a single sound. When it’s needed, it’s done.

img_4202.jpg
Source: Personal photos.

As a civil engineer, I was really happy to see such a beautiful construction, both light and elegant, and I feel very special, that I had the chance to visit a place like this. It was a bit scary experience to some of my friends, because as you walk over the bridge it sways a bit... but a real civil engineer is always sure for the work of his colleagues!

img_4204.jpg
Source:Personal photos

I am aware, that the purpose of the bridge is not only to connect the road with a small temple. The nature in this area of Kyushu (Southwest island of Japan) is very unique and under the bridge, runs a very beautiful river. Tourists are always present and they are
all very amazed by the surroundings and views.

If I have a chance I would definitely visit this place again, and if you come to be in this area of Japan some time, please make sure to visit this place. You won’t regret, for sure!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency