Show Your World: My School Life@dwixer

It's 8 days past the valid date for the contest, and knowing fully that my writing wouldn't count, I have decided to write regarding the provided topic "show your world: my school life".

My Life as a student


I wasn't born with a silver spoon but my parents were able to give me their gene crammed with strains of Intelligent quotient (IQ) and Emotional quotient (EQ), these paved ways for me in my academic journey. I was enrolled in college at a very early age and because of my intelligence I was given double promotion, this means skipping a class to another and joining students older than me. Aside from my age, I was a very shy boy, I struggled with many things such as communicating and socializing around female students.

I got admission in the North-central part of Nigeria, in Wamba, Nasarawa state. It was a science school with mixed gender and a boarding school. My friends had told me a lot about the school before I applied, this made me so enthusiastic to resume. My first day in school was not all I have envisioned but I was happy with the fact that it was a mixed school, unlike my earlier school which was all male.
The thought of having a girlfriend shoved my heart and I allowed it became my motivating factor.

Mr. Abayomi, the mathematics teacher entered the class to give a test, he was a very disciplined and stringent man who give room for no excuses. Though it was my first day, I did beautifully in the test, this made me popular and in few weeks I was known in the school as a brilliant student. The school became more fun except with the life in the hostel where seniors maltreated the junior students and we had no discretion but to go to the bush to either cook, eat mangoes, bath or avoid being caught. It was in one of our escapes that I met Linda, a beautiful girl who was also in my class. It was love at first sight, but I needed a manly-man to lend me his boldness to foster me to make the first move. I just stared, her eyes were bright as crystal, she had a dimple on her right cheeks, she was slim with glossy skin and smiles a lot- a perfect outline for my dream girl.

img_0.6311715654989287.jpg

Photo source

Been nonsocial and an introvert, I never participated in sport, I rather watch than play. I remember I and some students were once asked to clear grasses because we failed to turn up for sports activities but whenever it was a day for inspection which was every Saturday, we gave our best. Maybe not because I loved cleaning but because Linda was among the prefect who walks around with the teachers for inspection of hostels. It gives me joy when my hostel is mentioned to be the neatest hostel on Mondays while in the assembly.

As days count, I glimpsed the love was mutual, she was stealing as much glance at me as I was stealing at her in classes but I still couldn't get the boldness to walk up to her. The encouragement from my friends dies off anytime I see her until my friends decided to go call her for me without my consent.
"Yes, you sent for me," she said.
I did not want to look stupid or afraid, so I accepted I did. I can't recall what I said that night but all I knew was that I didn't say anything reasonable and it was a straight "No" I got. Once again I knew I was going to end my college as a single.

Knowing I couldn't get the girl I wanted, I resolved to practice mathematics harder than I had in the previous semester. I wake up as early as 3:00 a.m to study staying off my friends who were more concerned with womanizing and stealing chickens from the staff quarters to which I was never an accomplice. Though girls started showing interest in me, I gave a blind-eyes to them knowing I couldn't stand a woman.

I graduated in 2011 with one of the best results but as a single once again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency