SPECIAL NIGERIAN EGUSI SOUP 🍛🍲

Hey lovelies ❤️
It's your favorite girl @debbie-ese 😍
Welcome to my blog 🤗

A+ Gallery_104.jpg

Close your eyes for a moment and think of the most popular thing you can think of?

Well, Egusi soup may even be more popular than what you thought of in your mind!

Egusi soup is a popular Nigerian soup and it is often cooked with vegetables which may include either ugu leaves (pumpkin leaves), spinach or even bitterleaf. The choice of your vegetable depends on you. Some people may choose to use at least two different vegetables for their egusi, for instance, bitterleaf and ugu.

There are quite a number of methods of cooking the egusi soup and the methods all arrive at the same result. Some people like their egusi prepared with clumps while some do not want clumps in theirs. Clumps, which I'm not a fan of and which I haven't tried before is said to be achieved by frying the egusi slightly or mixing eggs with the grounded egusi and then fry in the egusi stew.

I love my egusi a bit watery and not too thick or with clumps. It's just a personal preference, it doesn't mean that egusi that have clumps are not equally delicious.

Here are the ingredients that I used in preparing my egusi soup:
• Fish

A+ Gallery_108.jpg

• 1 cup of Grounded egusi and Crayfish

A+ Gallery_110.jpg

• Palm oil
• Red bell pepper
• Onions

A+ Gallery_106.jpg

• Ugu leaves

A+ Gallery_107.jpg

• Stock fish

A+ Gallery_104.jpg

• Seasoning cubes

A+ Gallery_105.jpg

• Iru

A+ Gallery_103.jpg

• Salt to taste

A+ Gallery_109.jpg

So, I prepared my egusi following these steps:
• I blended the pepper and onions roughly, I like it rough and not too smooth.
• I mixed my grounded egusi with some water to make a puree. It must not be too watery. I set it aside.

A+ Gallery_111.jpg

• I also chopped some onions into small sizes and set aside as well.
• Next, place a pot on the cooker on medium heat, add some palm oil, then add the chopped onions when it's hot.
• Stir fry the onions for some seconds, then pour the pepper and onion mix.

A+ Gallery_112.jpg

• Add some seasoning cubes, crayfish, stock fish. Do not add salt at this point if you are going to use your meat stock, in order not to make it too salty.
A+ Gallery_113.jpg
• Stir fry the pepper mix for about 10 minutes and ensure that it does not get burnt

A+ Gallery_114.jpg

• Now, add some water or your meat stock, cover the pot and allow cook for another 5 minutes.
• Add the egusi puree into the stew and allow to cook for about 5 minutes.
• Add the fish and allow to cook for another 5 minutes.

A+ Gallery_115.jpg

• Check if the taste is perfect, if not add the necessary seasonings.
A+ Gallery_117.jpg
• Add the chopped ugu leaves and cook for another 120 seconds.
• Switch the heat off
• Your egusi is ready.

Thank you for your time lovelies.
The post is originally written by me 💕@debbie-ese💕

20200509_195027_0000.png

Your comments, criticism and votes are highly appreciated.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency