Untranslatable Words #13: voorpret

Hello peeps! @ailindigo here :)

First Untranslatable Word of 2021! :D Happy New Year everyone and I hope you had a nice NYE :) For this first 2021 Untranslatable Word we're going to Europe again, especifically to the Netherlands! A very intersting country I'd love to visit someday.

This week's word is the Dutch word: voorpret.


Gif by Wordstuck

voorpret

The reason I choose this word is because I'm experiencing this right now, and have been with this "pre-fun" in the last month since the day my cousin told me she's going to get married this January 6th! My cousin, the only family I have in this country and who is like a sister to me, is getting married tomorrow and I just can't contain myself!

voorpret literally means pre-fun (voor + pret) and refers to the joy or pleasure ahead and in anticipation of the actual fun event. *

This is the word for that intense feeling of excitement right before an even takes place, like when you're preparing a party, when you're just about to go on a trip - this would be somehow a wider version of resfeber, or when you're a kid and Christmas is very near I would say; it's the enjoyment of the anticipation of the event.

I've been really enjoying this sensation so much, and something nice I find about it is that it also makes you feel so much grattitude. They say hapiness is very linked to grattitude and I think voorpret might be an example of it, not in all cases but possibly on many of them if you dive into the hapiness I would say.

This enjoyment out of the anticipation of an event you know it's going to make you happy could be a way of expressing your gratitude not only towards going to that event but also being able to do so, or even just some other implications related to that event.

Sin título
Photo taken by me - B&W version previously posted here

In my case, I think it's a combination of all of these reasons. Love is an important life aspect for me and just knowing she finally found that one person, taking into account I know how much she deserves it, just fills me with hapiness and excitement, so much hapiness that when I think of it I just want to cry lol, I'll be probably the first one to start crying that day!

I took the photo above during a beach day we had 5 years ago, we were just sitting by the seashore while I was taking pics of the sea, the fun thing I realized not so much ago is that it was exactly on January 6th 2016, exactly 5 years before the day she's getting married! What a coincidence! lol

Since she told me at the beginning of December she was getting married, the voorpret never diminishes everytime I think of it, on the contrary, the feeling increases as the day gets closer. I'll be taking some shots tomorrow and I'll probably make a post, hopefully the hapiness tears won't stop me from doing the work :)

What do you think? What kind of events make you feel voorpret? Do you think gratitude might be related to it? Please tell me what you think!

Thank you very much for passing by! If you have an Untranslatable Word you'd like to suggest, please don't hesitate to do so! :)


Previous Untranslatable Words:

#1: Torschlusspanik
#2: Mono no aware
#3: Rasāsvāda
#4: Cavoli riscaldati
#5: Nefelibata
#6: Sturmfrei
#7: Jootha
#8: bilita mpash
#9: resfeber
#10: Vāde mēcum
#11: sankofa
#12: annus mirabilis


This content is part of a new series to get more people interested on languages and how they, perception and culture are related!

Exclusively for the Hive Cross Culture Community, the community for language exchange or cross-cultural purposes.

If you'd like to be part of the discussion don't hesitate to hop into the Hive Language and Culture Exchange Discord server! As well as subscribing to the Hive Cross Culture Community so you don't miss any new word comming ;) We'll be sharing a new Untranslatable Word each week!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency