Art lives in my home

I don't know why I hadn't shared this before. Today, as if I had never looked at the paintings hanging on the walls of my house, I realized I had a small collection. And here I am, grateful to @mipiano for having created this community that allows me to show you, the art works that adorn the walls of our apartment. Only 2 of them, have not found space in our small home, but I do not lose hope to be able to hang them because they are very important.

For some time my husband worked with an art curator. On more than one occasion he designed and produced the catalogs, flyers, brochures and other publicity material for some exhibitions. He had direct contact with many Cuban Plastic Artists. As a result of these relationships, the paintings we have come into our lives, some of them bought, others as gifts.

The main wall of our living room is adorned with a medium-sized painting by the outstanding painter Aguedo Alonso, now deceased. It is an abstract full of vibrant colors and strong contrasts.

aguedo.jpg



"La llave" is a art work full of texture by Jesús Lara Sotelo, a contemporary painter with an outstanding trajectory.

lara.jpg



Two watercolors created by Carlos Gámez de Francisco when he was very young, almost starting his professional career. Today he has a solid career in the United States where he has been living and working for some years. His surrealistic work reflects the human connection with animal life blending it in a very unique way. I love the colors in these pieces.

carlos.jpg


carlos pez.jpg



Born in the same place as Carlos Gámez, this artist from Holguín shows that art is in his veins. A doctor by profession and self-taught artist, Víctor Manuel Velázquez Mirabal gives free rein to his world of gouache stains with colors of earth and ochre tones that are very subtle and worthy of admiration. A series of 3 small watercolors on cardboard that are a delicacy.

vm pajaro.jpg


VM perro.jpg


vmpajaro2.jpg



Juan Suarez Blanco is a wonderful artist and a wonderful person. In spite of his more than 70 years of age, his work is always renewing itself. His figurative abstractions are beautiful. This painting we have was a gift from him as a thank you for a job my husband did for him and we treasure it with great affection.

juan.jpg



This beautiful painting on a ceramic plate was a gift from a friend, Mary Cari Díaz García, to our daughter. The sweetness and tenderness that characterizes hes personality is visualized in this and in all her pictorial work....this is another treasure that we possess.

mary cary.jpg

Look at the texture and details...

detalle.jpg



All the ones already shown are displayed in the rooms of our home, the 2 I show below are still waiting for safekeeping.

This gift from a good friend, Jesús Gastell Soto A beautiful engraving, full of strength as all his work.

gastell.jpg



And last but not least, this silkscreen print. It was a gift from Silvia Padrón, the daughter of the famous Cuban cartoonist Juan Padrón, to our daughter. It was given to her as part of the Grand Jury Prize obtained by her in "De vampiros y otros personajes' contest held in honor of this great creator.

elpidio.jpg

So far my small but dear collection of works of art, some of them with beautiful dedications.

dedicatorias.jpg


I hope you enjoyed it.



The images and text are my own. I used DeepL for the translation because Spanish is my native language.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency