This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My love letters collection / Mi colección de cartas de amor

Hello Hive Friends,

At my daughter's suggestion I have dusted off something that I had kept for years and that I consider a very valuable collection for me and that has a very great sentimental value. I'm talking about a collection of letters dating from between 1976 and 1981.


IMG_20231205_113851.JPG

The story, in part, was mentioned in my Hive presentation post.
My husband and I met in high school to go to study in the former USSR in the 75-76 academic year and in this last year I went to Kiev, Ukraine.

For academic reasons he could not travel with me. It was the following year that he arrived in the former Soviet Union, after overcoming a pending task. In that year of high school we start our love relationship and how sad we were to see that we would be separated for a whole year! However, we promised to wait for each other and write to each other constantly, and through the letters to maintain our commitment and our love.

That way we were able to get through the year we were separated, but that would not be the only separation, because he had to study in Oryol, which is 471 km from Kiev, so the means of communication continued to be that of letters.

We used the telephone route only through the mail, by appointment. That is how we stayed until 1980 when he finished his studies and returned to Cuba definitively, and also my daughter who I brought when she was 3 months old to leave her with my parents and sisters so that I could return to finish my 5th and last year of school.


IMG_20231205_112820_BURST1.JPG

Another stage of separation from 80-81, and another one of almost weekly correspondence now to know about my daughter, my husband and my family.

Every time I received a letter from Cuba I couldn't control the tears because I knew about the girl, about her advances in language, in walking. Difficult year for me and finishing my career. How I longed to hold them in my arms!

The collection was therefore not only Love Letters to my partner, but also to my parents, my sisters, my grandmother, my daughter, and the rest of the family and friends. That's why this is a collection that I will treasure for a lifetime.


IMG_20231205_113058.JPG

As a curious fact, I will tell you that my mother has wanted to throw them away on several occasions and I have not let her. I can't get rid of them, it's part of my life story. Also that my daughters hid once and read a lot of the letters, naughty girl stuff. But it was nice because that's how they found out about the love they had for each other and still have for their parents.

It's hard to believe that letters written on paper and through the mail have been disappearing, due to the existence of new technologies and cell phones.

A few years ago I knew that there is an International Love Letter Contest here in Cuba, which takes place every year in Sancti Spiritus, at the Escribanía Dollz Alternative Cultural Center.

I was always attracted to the idea of participating, but I wasn't motivated enough. Now Hive gives me the opportunity to make them known as a collection, but I could never introduce them to the content because they are so intimate.

Propose to write Love Letters, it is so nice to express our feelings to the people we love with absolute freedom, and thus we also contribute to not forgetting the handwriting that is so personal.

Nowadays even the posts I publish, previously I write them in a notebook, maybe one day those notebooks will be my next collection.

Versión en Español

Hola amigos de Hive,

Por sugerencia de mi hija he desempolvado algo que tenía guardado durante años y que considero una colección muy valiosa para mí y que tiene un valor sentimental muy grande. Me refiero a una colección de cartas que datan de entre los años 76 y 81.

La historia, en parte, la mencioné en mi post de presentación de Hive.

Mi esposo y yo nos conocimos en la Preparatoria para ir a estudiar a la antigua URSS el curso 75-76 y en este último año me fui yo para Kiev, Ucrania.

Por motivos académicos él no pudo viajar conmigo. Fue al año siguiente que llegó a la antigua Unión Soviética, luego de vencer una asignatura pendiente. En aquel año de preparatoria nos hicimos novios y ¡qué tristeza sentimos al ver que estaríamos un año completo separados! Sin embargo, nos prometimos esperarnos y escribirnos constantemente, y a través de las cartas mantener nuestro compromiso y nuestro amor.

Así pudimos superar el año que estuvimos separados, pero esa no sería la única separación, porque a él le tocó estudiar en Oriol que está a 471 Km de Kiev, por lo que el medio para comunicarnos siguió siendo el de las cartas.

Usábamos la vía telefónica solo a través del correo, con cita previa. De esa manera estuvimos hasta el año 1980 en que el terminó sus estudios y regresó a Cuba definitivamente, y también a mi hija que la traje de 3 meses de nacida para dejársela a mis padres y mis hermanas y así yo poder regresar a terminar mi 5to y último año de estudios.

Otra etapa de separación años 80-81, y otra más de correspondencia casi semanal ahora para saber de mi hija, de mi esposo y mi familia.

Cada vez que recibía una carta desde Cuba no podía controlar las lágrimas ya que sabía de la niña, de sus avances en el lenguaje, en el caminar. Difícil año para mí y terminar mi carrera. ¡Cuanto añoraba tenerlos en mis brazos!

La colección por tanto no solo fue de Cartas de Amor a mi pareja, sino a mis padres, mis hermanas, mi abuela, mi hija, y el resto de la familia y amigos. Por eso esta es una colección que atesoro y atesoraré por toda la vida.

Como dato curioso les contaré que mi madre ha querido botarlas en varias oportunidades y no la he dejado. No puedo deshacerme de ellas, es parte de la historia de mi vida. También que mis hijas se escondieron una vez y leyeron muchas de las cartas, cosas de niñas traviesas. Pero fue bonito porque así conocieron del amor que se tenían y tienen sus padres.

Es difícil creer que las cartas escritas en papel y a través del correo han ido desapareciendo, debido a la existencia de las nuevas tecnologías y los teléfonos celulares.

Hace ya unos cuantos años conocí que existe aquí en Cuba un Concurso Internacional de Cartas de Amor, que se realiza todos los años en Sancti Spiritus, en el Centro Cultural Alternativo Escribanía Dollz.

Siempre me atrajo la idea de participar, pero no estuve lo suficientemente motivada. Ahora Hive me brinda la oportunidad de darlas a conocer como colección, pero nunca podría presentarles el contenido porque son muy íntimas.

Propónganse escribir Cartas de Amor, es tan lindo expresar nuestros sentimientos a las personas que amamos con absoluta libertad, y así contribuimos también a no olvidar la escritura a mano que es tan personal.

En la actualidad hasta los posts que publico, previamente los escribo en una libreta, quizás un día esas libretas sean mi próxima colección.


This post is translated into English with DeepL, as Spanish is my native language.