Cooking Myself a Mothers Day Lunch

One day they grow up and call you out the blue and ask you what you're doing for Mother's Day. You'll find you don't even have to remind them, after years of nudging. They'll show up with their hairy beards and hairy dogs and pregnant girlfriends and you'll wonder: am I really a mother of such a creature? But you'll be glad, even if you have to make lunch for them, and vaccuum dog hair from the rug when they're gone.

IMG20220508132902.jpg

This is the first bunch flowers he's ever bought me. His girlfriends says it wasn't even her - he did it all by himself. I'm chuffed. They're winter flowers too and nothing to make us sneeze - succulents and gums and leucodendrons.

IMG20220508130241.jpg

As I'm caught by suprise, there's not much in that I can think to make, but tortillas are always good, especially if you don't care about any traditional filling. THe crunchy salad is made of a mild sauerkraut of my own, a storebought smoky jalapeno kraut, coriander, crispy fennel and raw cabbage. It works beautifully against the softer smokier hot filling. I also dish out a bowl of coconut yoghurt and some vegan cheese that's suprisingly cheesey.

IMG20220508130227.jpg

For the filling, it's leftover lentil stew mixed with some smoked paprika and fresh tomatoes to flesh it out a bit. There's also some fajita style stir friend tofu and vegetable filling seasoned with liquid smoke, smoked paprika, jalapenos and tamari. I even serve out the pickled oyster mushrooms we've been looking forward to trying. Our tortillas are far from traditional, that's for sure.

IMG20220508130527.jpg

We tuck in eagerly - whilst he's become quite adult by buying me flowers, he's still a little late and we're starving.

IMG20220508130537.jpg

My mother skills did kick in after lunch though, when I insisted there was no way I was bloody well cleaning up, and that was for sons to do. He happily agreed, giving me a big hug.

'Love ya, Mum', he says. I wonder sometimes if cupboard love has anything to do with it. I'm sure it does. But he's here, in my house, and it's a happy Sunday.

Even if I bloody well have to cook dinner as well.

With Love,

image.png

image.png
Plant Power Vegan Community


The Herbal Hive Community

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency