Bean lasagnette

Yesterday was a 'Oops, I bought too many veggies and I somehow need to combine them into one dish' kinda day.

I completely forgot I had broccoli in the fridge, which I now still do. I also completely forgot I bought three bell peppers/paprika's (what's the right English word?) and then I also bought carrots which did not have a long lifespan. So, I had to combine the last two in one dish and decided on an oven dish, because I had just bought vegan cheese from the Lidl and wanted to give that a try.

I decided on a sort of lasagna dish, figuring I could also use my tomatoes. We have this lasagnette package here in the Netherlands which is basically a lasagna mix but with small pasta sheets you can just mix in there, instead of having to layer them. I figured I'll do that by just breaking up my regular lasagna sheets. This was the end result:

image.png

And it was goooood! I was happily surprised.

Okay, so here's what was in there:

  • Two bell peppers/paprika's;
  • 300/400g Carrots;
  • Tomatoes to taste;
  • Freezer kale and spinach to taste;
  • One onion;
  • 5-ish cloves of garlic;
  • Two leeks fresh from the garden (which is about one store-bought leek size-wise);
  • Can of tomato puree;
  • Can of mixed beans;
  • A variety of fresh herbs from the garden (sage, rosemary and the last few basil leaves);
  • A variety of spices (like smoked paprika, a bit of cayenne and turmeric and some random store-bought mix);
  • Some nutritional yeast;
  • Oat milk;
  • Lasagna sheets, broken up into small pieces;
  • Vegan grated cheese.

I have no correct measurements or directions for this, because I was just busy throwing everything in there until it looked tasty. Luckily, I had remembered to collect the herbs and the leeks from my garden before beginning this adventure.

So I started with cutting up everything and then heated up the garlic and onion in a hot pan with oil. I then remembered I needed some extra greens and rushed to the freezer to grab some kale and spinach and threw that into the pan to defrost. Then I added the herbs, the bell peppers, carrots and leeks. After those were heated up for a while, I mixed in the tomato puree, stired for a while and added the tomatoes, spices, nutritional yeast and mixed beans. I drained the beans a little, but didn't rinse them, because I needed a bit of the can juices to bind liquids. Then I slowly started adding oat milk until the mixture was nice and creamy, but not too watery. I broke up the lasagna sheets into small pieces and stired that in there. I used five-ish, basically until I felt it was enough. Once they were added, I stired for a few more minutes and then added all of the contents into a pre-oiled oven dish. I topped that with a small layer of nutitional yeast and then spread out the vegan grated cheese evenly. I used half the package, but could have probably used a bit more (using the right amount of vegan cheese is still a work in progress). Then I put the dish in the preheated oven at 200C for 40-ish minutes.

It tasted great! I'm so happy I used the oat milk to make it all creamy-like and the bean juices really seemed to help thicken all of that liquid. Hubby was very happy with the food aswell. Didn't complain about missing 'the idea of meat' even once. I call that a win!

So, this was very much not helpful at all if you want a recipe with clear directions, but I hope the more adventurous readers will get some nice ideas out of this one. At the very least I will now be able to look back later on how I made this, so I can try and do it again.

My plan was to eat the broccoli today, but hubby has to have dinner at his dad's tonight, so I'm hoping it will survive another night in the fridge. It's too much for just me.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency