Vegan eggnog for Christmas! πŸŽ„βœ¨

What drink makes you instantly think of Christmas?
Yes, people have hot wine, hot chocolate, cacao, etc. during this time... But I would say that eggnog also has a special place here. If I had to tell when do people drink eggnog, I would definitely say during Christmas 😁

However, this drink is made of eggs and milk products so it doesn't look very pleasing to consume. But since the taste of it fits perfectly for Christmas (because of the spices combination such as nutmeg, vanilla) I really wanted to try out a vegan version of this drink.

I made this drink with alcohol, but you can certainly skip this ingredient as without alcohol it still tastes good. It would be more like a chai latte or a smoothie with spices - but does that sound bad at all? πŸ˜ƒ

And if you are looking for new ides on beverages for your Christmas, I would recommend to give this drink a go and enjoy some eggnog without using animal products. 🧑

I wouldn't say that it 100% tastes like eggnog but it is tasty and that pleases me enough 😁 It is thick, you can feel the spices - vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, so it already fits for Christmas table.

I would actually drink this without alcohol as a smoothie or chai latte (if you would warm it up) on any other day, not necessarily on Christmas. πŸ‘Œ


You will need:
For 2-3 portions

  • 400 ml. unsweetened almond milk (other milk is also suitable such as cashew, coconut, oat...)
  • 100 g. coconut milk solids (cream from the top of the can)
  • 3 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of bourbon vanilla flavored sugar
  • ΒΌ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 0.5 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 100 ml. rum ("Spiced" type) - optional

Preparation

  1. Place all ingredients, except for alcohol, in a container for blending.

    Blend everything with a manual or other blender (blend for about 0.5-1 minute) until everything is smooth.
  2. Then, if using alcohol, add rum and mix with a spoon/fork until well mixed. You can choose a different amount of alcohol here, I added not that much for it not to be too strong.
  3. I served the drink cold and for me it is more tasty this way. But you can also warm up the drink and have something more similar to a "chai" latte. You can also sprinkle some cinnamon on top ✨

What is your favorite drink for Christmas? πŸŽ„

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency