Simple vegan feta cheese recipe 🧀🤤

My main issue with vegan lifestyle is cheese - I LOVE cheese and vegan cheese is just the worst thing ever for me 😔 I tried many different kinds and everytime I feel so disappointed. My digestion also does not tolerate some kind of ingredient from vegan cheese as after eating it I get stomach ache and feel sick ☚ī¸

So I continue to try out homemade vegan cheese recipes and although I didn't find the perfect recipe for regular cheese that I would love, I found a recipe for vegan feta cheese which was just amazing 😍

The best part is that it is super easy to make and you don't need any extraordinary ingredients and most of them are probably already in your kitchen!

I ate some of this cheese simply by itself as it was very tasty but also, I put it on salads, sandwiches and I even added some to my zucchini patties and it fit perfectly as a substitute for sauce 🤩

You can store this feta cheese in the fridge for a few days but it is really good so it might be difficult to keep it untouched for too long 😁

You will need:

  • 180 g. plain tofu
  • 0.5 tablespoon of nutritional yeast
  • 0.5 tablespoon of soy sauce
  • 70 ml. coconut oil (in the recipe I used refined coconut oil - so there was no coconut smell/taste in the cheese)
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice
  • 0.5 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • 0.5 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 teaspoon of onion powder

Preparation

  1. Take the tofu out of the package and dry it by pressing it with a towel or paper towels.
  2. Break tofu into few chunks and put in a bowl where you will blend it.

    Add all other ingredients to the same bowl on the tofu - coconut oil, nutritional yeast, soy sauce, salt, onion powder, lemon juice and apple cider vinegar.
  3. Blend all the ingredients until smooth with a hand blender or food processor.
  4. Place the blended mixture in a selected container. I would also advise to line the container with baking paper to make it easier to remove the cheese afterwards. I used a plastic box of these dimensions: 15cm length; 10 cm width; 3 cm depth.

    Make the surface even/flat with a spoon.
  5. Keep the cheese in the container in the refrigerator for at least a few hours or preferably and best - overnight.
  6. It can be eaten alone, with salads, snacks, pasta, used as a sauce and much more!
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
22 Comments
Ecency