Homemade fried rice - Nature to the rescue

This would be my first time posting to this community after a few days of finding out about it. I'm a lover of veggies and plant based meal or maybe I'm from a native that uses plants mostly for our meals so I was born into loving it.

One of the foods I enjoy more with vegetables is the food I'm going to share how I prepare it at home today. This post is also for a contest I came across asking to show recipe for any kind of rice dish and this meal came to mind because it's one of my favourites.

png_20220719_204113_0000.png

Did you see the caption, "Nature to the rescue?!" haha that is because most of what I used in preparing this dish was nature-provided and I prepared this dish with a grateful heart to nature.

Rice is one of the most eaten meal in my country Nigeria and we do have so many ways of preparing our rice, one of which is "Frying it with veggies" and I'll show how it's done at home here.

Fried rice ingredients

RiceGreen beansCabbage
CarrotPeasGreen pepper
LiverVegetable oilOnions
CurrySaltmaggi

You might want to note that some of us do use more ingredients than this but I only used a few that I could get at that time. I didn't make use of liver and peas in this one I prepared but trust me, the taste was great too.

IMG_20220623_155224.jpg

IMG_20220623_150334.jpg

I got freshly looking veggies for my meal from the market. They didn't cost as much as I had expected so I got enough of what I need for my meal.

I made sure to wash all of it before I sliced them into my desired size and shape. I think this is the major work of this particular meal.

IMG_20220623_163430.jpg

IMG_20220623_154957.jpg

After slicing the veggies, I parboiled the rice. Parboiling took 10 minutes then I washed the starch off and allowed it cool to half done.

IMG_20220623_160825.jpg

IMG_20220623_161018.jpg

While waiting for the rice to get ready for frying, I sliced the veggies for making the salad. Don't mind the shapes I chose, I do enjoy it more when the sizes are bigger hehe.

IMG_20220623_163019.jpg

When the rice is half done, I put it down and fried the veggies I had prepared for the rice. I fried them with the vegetable oil.

Then I added my salt, Maggi, onions and spices to improve the taste (Every place got it's own spices to add).

IMG_20220623_170236.jpg

After frying, I poured them into the half done rice and stirred very well until it was everywhere and I allowed it to heat more for some minutes and my fried rice was ready!

IMG_20220719_204623.jpg

My focus is showing how I prepare fried rice and I hope I've done justice to that. You can share your thoughts on what you think about my recipe, I'm open to learning more.

First image was designed Here
All images used in this post are mine

This is my entry to Qurator's Hive Top Chef competition

IMG-20220605-WA0008.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency