The simplest and most delicious way to cook mushrooms

I am lazy when it comes to cooking, so most of the recipes I make are simple, quick and easy. But I try to not be sloppy, food has to taste good after all.

My go to meal is rice, beans, vegan soy protein and shrooms. I may add more veggies on top for flavor and nutrients but that is the basic.

Rice, beans and texturized soy protein don’t have a nice texture though, so I like adding mushrooms.

I have seen this recipe once but it is easy, so I always get it done right. It can be cooked within 5 to 10 minutes and tastes like the mushrooms that I order from restaurants!

img_4134.jpg

You are going to need:

  • Mushrooms, mostly any kind works from my experience
  • Vegetable oil, I like olive
  • Soy sauce (shoyu)
  • Dark sesame oil (toasted)

Steps:

First, NEVER wash your mushrooms, that makes them spongey and makes them not soak in the flavors! You can clean them with paper or cloth or brushes, but never use water because it will soak in the water and be disgusting!

img_4135.jpg

First you need to strip apart the chunks of mushrooms. I strip them one by one so it can soak in the flavor. It is not necessary to literally strip them one by one, you can do it roughly, I do that when I am in a hurry, but the smaller the pieces the more tasteful it is!

img_4136.jpg

Cook it a little bit with the oil of your choice for around 1 minute, I choose olive oil so it fries a little bit and becomes yellowish, but only slightly.

img_4137.jpg

Shoyu time! Add shoyu enough to cover all the mushrooms, the goal is for the mushrooms to absorb all the shoyu you pour, but do not pour too much. My tip is to add little by little and mix we’ll after pouring a bit, if there is excess at the bottom that the shrooms can not absorb then you have poured too much. Let it cook for around 5 minutes. They will reduce in size as you cook them.

img_4138.jpg

Turn the heat off when you are satisfied with the cooking.

Dark sesame oil is the key ingredient. After you have turned off the heat, you need to add a few drops of sesame here and there, but unlike the shoyu sauce you don’t want it to cover everything. We want it to have a hint of sesame, not for it to taste like sesame.

Again, the tip is to put a few drops, mix it well and smell. If you smell the sesame, it is time to stop. The goal is to have a hint of it, not to taste like it. Because we are done cooking, if you put too little sesame you can always add 1 or 2 drops later, but if you put too much you can’t undo.

img_4139.jpg

And it is done!

It is simple, that is why I love this recipe. I have never done it wrong. The one I cooked in this post I think I overdid the sesame oil but just a little bit, but it still tasted good.

If you try it out, post your results!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency