The Brand New PLANT BASED challenge: Global Vegan

Hello foodlovers greetings🙏. Here I am taking the challenge from the @plantpowerand community to make the traditional recipe for global vegan.
Thank you @plantpoweronhive@sirenahippie @riverflow and now sponsor @melinda010100 for encouraging the new cooks in this community.
Here is my recipe called Dal-bhajiche Dhapate. (modern name can be vegetable cutlets or kebab for westerners)
I lost my mother at a young age. So i had to start making food from that time for my sublings and father. my father was the first teacher for me taught how to make food even though he never made food when my mother was alive. He said just put all things together in the lentils or vegetables but didn't tell how much so imagine what food was that? it was sometimes salty, or spicy, or no taste at all even sometimes undercooked or burnt. But we had good neighbors which helped me to learn many things.
In a small place in India with no communication, no radio, no tv, no electricity, and no cookbooks available. we learned through our self-experiences and discussions with each other. nuts peanuts or coconuts. and many lentils and beans, corn, and vegetables are all locally grown.
A Hindu has many religious regulations, special days, and festivals. No, meat, fish, or eggs but we use milk on special days. I had long experience with vegetarian/vegan food. My experience taught me a lot
When I understood food, I started making some experiments with new recipes. When we moved to a big town, the possibility of ingredients and more consciousness of food inspired me to make better food. Making food became my passion. After being educated as an ayurvedic doctor, an interest in food became one part of my life. healthy food, nutritious food, tasty food many things, because what we eat reflects ourselves is what my Ayurveda said.

Now late we start making Dhapate. This recipe is from Indian Maharashtrian cuisine I made small changes in it according to my fusion. On vegetarian days we like to eat some spiced crunchy version of vegetables and lentil mix. This recipe is made with different vegetables different lentils or beans or flour to make a variation and different taste in it. In my family, we prepare it for a small festival time or vegetarian days. I heard about it and I made it for the first time at age of 17. but then i used pumpkin instead of potato and no cashews


Indian food is not complete without some rice and gravy. (Amati Bhat) It is made for some special day or festival time here we missing dessert in the plate..


these are great for children who are skeptical to vegetables. Dhapate.With date chutney, mint chutney, and spiced peanut yogurt.


Ingredients:
1 cup of grated potato
1 cup of grated carrot
1 cup of chopped coriander
1 cup of washed and soaked red lentils original recipe I use green lentil / Mung
1 cup of grated cabbage
1 cup of finely chopped onion (for festivals we don't use onion and garlic).
2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 green chili, 2-3 cm fresh ginger. crushed.
1/2 cup cashews
1 tsp garam masala, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp cumin powder. 1 tsp coriander powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp red chili powder salt to taste.
3 tbsp oil.


Wash and soak red lentils for about 2 hours after 2 hours drain the water. (If green lentils. Mungbeans need 6 hours to soak) Use a towel to dry them. grind the lentils using a mixer. put the drained lentils into a mixer. add all spices. crush the ginger garlic, and green chili using a morter pistol.


The lentils, spices, ginger garlic, and salt grind together in the mixer to make a coarse paste. put the paste in a bowl.


Mix grated cabbage, carrot, and potato and add 1/2 tsp salt. Mix thoroughly. Use the strainer to drain extra water from vegetables. press to make it a suitable dough form.


Make a cashew powder using a mixer.
put the lentil paste, cabbage, potato, carrot mixture, onion, coriander, and cashew powder in a bowl. mix them into the dough form. I always use my hands.No spoon or fork.


The dough for Dhapate is ready. taking 1/2 cup of portion make into rounds or oval shapes I made15 pieces of Dhapate.

In a frying pan cook them on medium heat. they burn very fast. even though I was very alert, some of them quickly turned dark brown.

After coming back from work taking bath and then making food I don't have time to put on makeup so although my food is tidy I myself am messy.


Here is the Dhapate is ready.

I made plain rice and vegetable coconut gravy together with it. Traditionally we serve it together for a lunch or dinner plate. So I made very quick gravy.


ingredients:
1 potato cut into chunk
10 green beans cut into chunk
1 small carrot cut into a chunk
1/2 cup of water strained from the cabbage, potato, and carrot.
1 cup thin coconut milk
1 spring onion, chopped
1 shallot onion cut into chunk
1/2 cup cooked chickpeas
1 Indian green paprika.
1 tbsp chopped coriander leaves
salt to taste
1/2 tsp garam masala
1 tsp coconut oil.
1/2 tsp mustard seed, 1/2 tsp cumin seed, and a pinch of hing. asafoetida.

![](
In a saucepan add 1 tsp coconut oil add mustard seed, cumin seed, and a pinch of hing in it add all vegetables stir it well then add the strained vegetable juice.
cook for around 4-5 minutes


Now add thin coconut milk to the gravy I saved the thick coconut milk to add 1 tbsp later on and what is left over I will use for a new recipe. add salt, garam masala and chickpeas. cook a couple of minutes and take off the heat. now stir in the 1 tbsp thick coconut mil and our gravy is ready.


Served with mint chutney and dates chutney, spiced peanut yogurt. and cucumber, cherry tomatoes, kale, and lemon slices for decoration. In India, we use cabbage leaves and tomatoes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency