1st Make Klepon (Indonesian Traditional Snack) For My Iftar Ramadan

Klepon is the round Indonesian traditional snack, where the inside has palm sugar. and then sprinkle coconut on top So, the taste is soft and sweet.



img_5899.jpg



The weekend is very happy for us to explore in the kitchen. Especially in the month of Ramadan, preparing a menu for breaking the fast is an interesting activity. Especially trying new Indonesian tradicional recipes. Even though you can't break fasting with my family, eating Indonesian food can cure my longing to my hometown.

Today is my 1st make Klepon from sweet yellow potato and glutenous rice. Klepon is the round Indonesian traditional snack, where the inside has palm sugar. and then sprinkle coconut on top So, the taste is soft and sweet.

Then, Let's follow my journey at 1st Time make Klepon!


img_5881.jpg



The ingredients we should prepare are:

• 350 grams yellow or red sweet potatoes
• 150 grams of glutinous rice flour
• 150 grams of palm sugar (depending of our taste)
• 200 ml coconut milk
• 2 pandan leaves
• 1 grated coconut
• A pinch of salt
• A pinch of vanilla


img_5882.jpg
Step 1: Smash sweet potato that already cook until soft



img_5884.jpg
Step 2: Add pandan color to make beautiful



img_5887.jpg
Step 3: Make it round and inside put palm sugar



Steps to Make Round Klepon

• Steam the sweet potato until cooked then remove
• Mash until smooth.
• Combine Glutinous flour, stir until smooth
• Add a little salt and vanilla to smell good
• Stir the dough until smooth then set aside
• Mix pandan paste to give color to make it more beautiful
• Take the dough, then fill it with palm sugar
• Make it Round shape


img_5887.jpg


img_5889.jpg

Noted: when Klepon has floated, it mean already cook


Steps to cook klepon

• Boil water until it boils
• Put the klepon circle until it floats
• Lift and drain
• Coat grated coconut
• Klepon is ready to serve



img_5894.jpg

Klepon ready to served


While enjoying coffee and klepon alone brings me together with my family, klepon is a typical Indonesian snack that is sold in traditional markets. My mother often buys us when we go to the market. Moreover, this is my favorite food, which is made of sweet potato, which is then mixed with glutinous rice flour, and filled with brown sugar. My Dad also like this food. He always enjoys it with a cup of black coffee in the morning.

img_5900.jpg



In Taiwan, it's not easy to get klepon, only Toko Indonesia sells it. And I can't go out every day to buy this food. Because I only found it when I visited Taipei city. So the alternative that I do is make my own and I am happy can make it 💓😄


That's all my recipe about #Klepon. Thanks for stopping and reading. I am very happy to be able to share my recipe, photography, and my life as an Indonesian in Taiwan. See you in the next post. May we all always be given health and prosperity always.

Best Regards
@ettydiallova


About Author

Welcome to Etty's Small Corner Hive Blog. She is an Indonesian who currently working and studying in Taiwan. Writing is her passion and managed to carve the achievement. Her writings that won in Taiwan Literature Award for Migrants (TLAM) 2017 with the title “RED” adopted to Movie and displayed on Taiwan TV by 2020.

She won an essay competition race with the theme of education at the Indonesian economic trade office, Taipei in 2019. and won two awards and two trophies in TLAM 2020. The first champion of the Essai migrant workers of Taiwan by 2021. Her solo book was published in 2015. She is also a writer in an Indonesian language redaction in Taiwan.

Contak Person: E-mail: etimelati18@gmail.com II Discord: Etty Diallova#9230.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency