Oven fried French fries - Hive Top Chef

DSC_2423.jpg

When I discovered French fries I was living in Ontario Canada where I grew up. I came from Bangkok at the age of four. Rice was most likely the only starch I consumed in those early years.

Down the street from our house was a fish and chip shop. The orders came wrapped up in newspaper. It was a cone shape. My father would treat me to Fish and chips on occasion.

Often my little friends and I would manage to get 25 cents somehow and this would buy us an order of French fries. I still remember the excitement of having the newspaper cone handed to me. We would go to the station of condiments and load up with ketchup and vinegar. This was the only way we ever had French fries....until I went to Montreal Quebec where I now have lived for over a decade.

I learned that there was a popular dish called poutine, which was fries with gravy topped with cheese curds. I couldn't grasp on to this idea. I thought it was just so strange and foreign. Eventually I had some and didn't mind it, but it's not my thing.

Here in Quebec, ketchup is a rare thing to put on fries. I thought it was so weird when I learned that the French Canadians put mayonnaise on their fries and rarely ketchup. They never put vinegar at all unless they come from Ontario.

DSC_2341.jpg
At work we ordered 50 pounds of potatoes and they accidentally sent us an extra bag. They said they would reimburse us for half the price of a sac. I offered to buy the 50 pound sac of potatoes which cost me 13 dollars Canadian. Not bad but I have more potatoes then I know what to do with. Well I will start by participating in this week's Hive Top Chef where the theme is French fries. Mine will be made in the oven instead of deep frying. I limit my deep fried food intake, not that I won't have it, but not quite yet.

Oven fries
3 large potatoes ( mealy potatoes such as russets, Yukon gold yellow are my favourite)
1/8 cup vinegar
Seasonings
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon black pepper

DSC_2360.jpg

I have the good fortune of owning a mandolin which has a slicing blade for fries. I got this device at a thrift shop so I am happy to use it. I kept the skin on and washed the potatoes which were not too dirty to begin with.

DSC_2362.jpg

After slicing the three potatoes I rinsed them, soaked them in the vinegar and cold water, then covered and put them in the fridge. The vinegar and cold water help them get crispy.

DSC_2374.jpg

I left them in the fridge for a couple of hours and ran some errands. When I got back, I drained the liquid from the potatoes and let them dry off while I maid a couple of dipping sauces. I was not going to use my childhood ketchup this time. The first sauce or dressing was a garlicky herb sauce.

DSC_2378.jpg

Garlicky herb sauce
1 bulb of garlic
1 small handful of parsley
3 stems of green onion
Juice of 1 lemon
1 cup vinegar
1 tablespoon agave
1 tablespoon pepper
Salt to taste
2 - 2 1/2 cups olive oil or neutral oil

DSC_2382.jpg

This is ideal for making in a food processor but I used a blender instead. I blended the herbs and garlic first to make a paste. I added a little vinegar and blended more.

DSC_2385.jpg

After I switched to a hand blender while I slowly added the oil. This was the way to emulsify. I added oil slowly until it was smooth and thickened.

DSC_2386.jpg

I decided to replace the usual ketchup with some homemade barbecue sauce. This is something that I make differently all the time using similar ingredients. I add what I feel like each time.

DSC_2387.jpg

Spicy Barbecue sauce
360 ml of tomato paste
Juice of a lemon
1/2 cup cider vinegar
1 tablespoon molasses
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 tablespoons Bragg's liquid aminos or soy sauce
1/2 cup sherry vinegar
4 jalapenos (or what you like or none)
5 cloves garlic
1 onion
1/4 cup raisins

DSC_2393.jpg

Seasonings
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 tablespoon crushed red pepper
1 teaspoon thyme
1 teaspoon oregano
1/4 teaspoon clove powder
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

DSC_2398.jpg

For the barbecue sauce, saute onions then then add the rest of the ingredients.

DSC_2411.jpg

Transfer to a pot then simmer down for around 20 minutes or so. When cooled blend until smooth.

DSC_2416.jpg

Meanwhile toss the potatoes in around 2 tablespoons of oil and add paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and salt to taste.

DSC_2403.jpg

Make sure the potatoes are dry before you toss them in the oil and seasonings. You could use a clean dish cloth to dry them. I didn't need to.

DSC_2409.jpg

Spread the potatoes evenly on a baking sheet and preheat the oven to 400 C. I just chose that temperature. I wasn't sure but it worked out.

DSC_2414.jpg

After 8 minutes I checked them to see if they were getting golden, then I flipped them gently. I ended up doing this a couple of times. I don't have a light bulb in the oven so I just had to check more often.

DSC_2424.jpg

When they were nice and golden and crispy I took them out and served.

DSC_2433.jpg

I just so happened to have a package of newspaper print wax paper. I bought it a long time ago and never used it. This was my opportunity to add a little nostalgia to my fries.

DSC_2446.jpg

I threw in a little vegan mayonnaise to honour the favourite fries condiment of the Quebec province.

DSC_2440.jpg

It may seem odd but I happen to like a squeeze of lime on almost everything. It works well with seasoned fries and spicy barbecue sauce. This was my adult version of French fries but I still like a good old fashion plate of fries with ketchup and vinegar just like I had growing up in the other province.

What do you like on your fries?

Photos are taken with a Nikon D 7500.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency