Lion's Mane-ia -tooth fungus for versatile cooking

Untitled-1.jpg

Recently I have been going to the local park which sets up some stands selling market items. This is once a week only.

DSC_6386.jpg

It will be there for one or two more weeks. This has given me the opportunity to buy mushrooms that I can't find in regular stores. The other day I went in hopes that the "mushroom man" would bring lion's mane. The week before he didn't have them. I thought it was over.

When I approached the market I had my fingers crossed but wasn't really expecting him to have it.

DSC_6389.jpg

When I got to him I saw the white puffy looking beauties heaping inside the bin. What a sight.

DSC_6395.jpg

DSC_6391.jpg

Mushroom man knows me already. I have spent quite a bit of money on fungus, in the last few weeks. This time I had to skip the other beauties and just go for the lion's mane. I had to be careful not to go overboard.

DSC_6393.jpg

I tried not to flinch when he told me I picked out a kilo, and the price was 40 dollars.

DSC_6399.jpg

I was tempted to buy some of the others but I stopped myself. The shitakes looked amazing but I can find shitakes sometimes.

DSC_6400.jpg

The cinnamon caps looked lovely as usual. I will hope that they will be there next time. I need to have them once more.

I took my lion's mane and walked back through the little park which has a fountain right in the middle of it. This park is small and in the center of the city plateau.

DSC_6402.jpg

I made three different dishes over the next three days. Tragically I accidently deleted one of them. But two remained which I will share. The first one was a stir fry. These are the approximate amounts of ingredients. I make things up as I go.

Stir fry with lions mane
1 cup grilled lion's mane chunks
One small nappa cabbage
3 bok choy
1 onion
3 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon minced ginger
3 chilies
4 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon vegan oyster sauce
1 teaspoon white pepper
1 tablespoon minced coriander fresh
1 tablespoon agave or other sweetener
1 tablespoon cornstarch
Juice of a lime

DSC_6561.jpg

I chopped the veggies roughly since they are the kind that have a lot of moisture and would shrink.

DSC_6563.jpg

The fungus was first pressed in my little electric grill, to get the moisture out.

DSC_6556.jpg

This makes it really meaty.

DSC_6558.jpg

After frying the onions, garlic, ginger and peppers, I added the mushrooms.

DSC_6565.jpg

DSC_6576.jpg

After that I added the veggies, the liquids then sprinkled cornstarch over top tossing everything together.

DSC_6588.jpg

DSC_6596.jpg

I added some jasmine rice on the side.

DSC_6607.jpg

The great thing about this fungus is that it is mild and meaty. It absorbs the flavors that you put on it.

DSC_6622.jpg

Although it is a meaty mushroom it still has a mushroom like texture. However it is a good substitute for tofu for people that avoid tofu. It's not good for it's price though.

Moving along to the next dish. I decided to make tempura with the remainder. I was in the mood for a treat.

Tempura lion's mane
lion's mane strips grilled
Tempura mix and water to make a thin batter
Pinch of garlic powder
Pinch of onion powder
Pinch of salt and pepper
Pinch of paprika or cayenne

DSC_6557.jpg

Simply dip the mushroom in the tempura and fry in hot oil.

DSC_6592.jpg

It looks so much like chicken but it's quite delicate so handle carefully.

DSC_6594.jpg

DSC_6630.jpg

I had to throw some onion strips in for an extra treat.

DSC_6626.jpg

I made a quick dipping sauce from a barbecue sauce made before and added some spicy chili sauce. I could have also made a sweet soy dipping sauce or a peanut sauce but this was convenient. On the side I made a coleslaw from French breakfast radish that I bought from the market.

DSC_6636.jpg

I hope to get one more bunch of mushrooms from the mushroom man before we part ways and I go back to the less expensive kinds. I need to get rid of my expensive obsession. I really am happy I could try these things if only a few times in my life.

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency