Simple vegan ice cream without compromise / シンプルでおいしい本格ビーガンアイス

I am serving vegan Asian food mainly Japanese every two weeks at a local market. I tried ice cream two years ago and it was received well but somehow I was too lazy to continue the experiment last year.

This year my vegan ice cream project woke up from hibernation 😁 I would like to make vegan ice cream that is light for stomach at the same time rich in taste. I didn't want to use vegan creams, which often has a lot of ingredients. I thought it can be done with Japanese tastes.

First, I made Miso-Sesame ice cream. It tastes like conventional salt caramel ice cream. By using sesame paste, I can add rich oily flavor. Small amount of Miso adds Umami. For the basis, I use soy milk since I like the taste, I'm from tofu country and also for people who has gluten intolerance. And then Matcha ice cream by modifying the Miso-Sesame recipe.

Here I'm happy to share how I make the ice cream.

Basis

The basic amount is as follows (20+ scoops, 1.2-2L):

  • 1L soy milk or other plant milk
  • 200g sugar
  • 200g sesame paste (Tahini) or nut paste.
  • 30g rice flower or 1/2 teaspoon guar gum

You must adjust amount of sugar and nut or seed paste up to the total amount of fat, sugar and salt. Even sugar, salt and even oil is added to some soy milk. I use plain one without any of them.

You can choose rice flower or either guar gum for stickiness. If you use rice flower, you must once heat up plant milk carefully and dissolve the rice flower and other ingredients.

If you use guar gum, the process is simpler. Mix sugar and nut/seed paste with a whisk, and gradually add plant milk. Add guar gum in the end. Guar gum is convenient for larger amount production but I don't like when it's used too much. I feel strange feeling in my throat when I eat dressings that is most probably thickened with it. So good to use it modestly if you use it.

Making flavor

Try out some plant milk and seed/nut paste combination, and add some additional flavor such as Miso or Matcha.

For Miso-Sesame ice cream, I use soy milk and sesame paste combination. I like to use Cashew for matcha as it has more neutral and nutty sweet taste compared to sesame paste. Since cashew paste is sweeter than sesame paste, I reduce sugar.

Finishing the ice cream

I used to make ice cream without an ice cream machine but it makes nicely airy, creamy and less icy texture.

If you use a machine, follow the instruction and let it make your ice cream. When I make with 1L of plant milk, my machine takes 50-60 minutes. Let it stay over night in freezer. Then it's done!

If you do it manually, make the mixture and put it in freezer. Mix it with a folk every one to two hours for few times. Let it stay over night in freezer.

I bought a machine with 2L capacity but there are smaller ones with affordable prices less than 50 EUR. So if you are an ice cream fan or less vegan ice cream is available around your place, it might be a fun toy and a good investment.

🍨 🍨 🍨

How did you like the super simple vegan ice cream with quite pure ingredients? I wish you like it and I look forward to serving it at the local market tomorrow.

Have a nice weekend!

~~~

2年前に一度つくりかけて、好評だったにもかかわらず、去年怠けて冬眠中だったビーガンアイスのプロジェクトを目覚めさせました 😁

味噌とごまを使うと、ビーガンでもお腹に軽くてでもきっちりどっしりアイス!という感じのものができそうで、2年前の走り書きを掘り出してきて実験を始めました(ビーガンのクリームも出ていて、ネットではビーガンクリームを使ったレシピは見つかるものの、ビーガンクリームは原材料が結構ごっちゃりすごいので使わないことにしました)。

レシピが安定してきて、マーケットやケータリングでも出し始めたこともあり、Hiveに書き残すことにしました。

基本の分量

<20スクープ強、出来上がり1.2~2L>

  • 豆乳などの植物性ミルク 1L
  • 砂糖 200グラム
  • ゴマペーストなどの種やナッツのペースト 200g
  • 米粉30gまたはグアーガム小さじ1/2

上記はあくまで基本の分量で、植物性のミルクやペーストの種類、味付けに使う材料で、砂糖の量を調整する必要があります。

米粉かグアーガムは粘り気を出すために使います。米粉を使う場合は、一度植物性ミルクを温めて、米粉と他の材料を溶かしていくので、ちょっと手間がかかります。

グアーガムを使うとプロセスをシンプルにできます。砂糖とペーストを泡立て器で混ぜ、植物性のミルクを少しずつ加えて、最後にグアーガムを加えます。グアーガムは特にたくさん作るときに便利なのですが、私は多分グアーガムでとろみをつけたであろうドレッシングをたくさん食べると、のどに違和感を感じるので、使うときは極々少量使います。

味つけ

植物性ミルクと種やナッツのペーストの組み合わせを変えてみたり、味噌や抹茶などのフレーバーを加えてみたりして味つけを楽しめます。

味噌ゴマアイスクリームには、豆乳とゴマペーストの組み合わせを使います。抹茶にはカシューナッツのペーストを使っています。ゴマペーストに比べて、カシューナッツはより中立的でナッツの甘味があるからです。カシューナッツペーストはゴマペーストよりも甘いので、砂糖を減らします。

いざアイスクリームに

アイスクリームマシンを使わずにアイスクリームを作ることもできますが、やっぱりマシンには勝てません。。マシンを使うと空気を含んでクリーミーになり、ビーガンアイスにありがちな氷っぽいしゃりしゃりした食感が少ないです。

1Lの植物性ミルクで作る場合、私のマシンでは50~60分かかります。そのあと冷凍庫で一晩寝かせて完成です。手で作る場合は、ミックスを作って、冷凍庫に入れ、1~2時間おきにフォークで数回混ぜます。マシンで作る場合と同様に冷凍庫で一晩寝かせて完成。

私は容量2Lの機械を買いましたが、数千円の手ごろな値段でもっと小さいものもあります。アイスクリームが好きな人、ビーガンアイスクリームが手に入りにくいという人には、よい投資&いいおもちゃになると思います。

超シンプルなビーガンアイスクリーム、いかがでしたか?明日、地元のマーケットで出すのが楽しみです 🍨

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency