Five Questions | Five Interesting Answers About Books

image.png
pexels

What is the first book you remember reading as a child?

As a child, I read quite a number of storybooks that were all from local authors. This was because the primary school curriculum then included reading literary text for exams. It was what sparked my early interest in fiction that has carried on all these years.

image.png
pexels

It's hard to pinpoint the exact first book I read then but I'm certain it was something in the lines of Chike and the River or Eze Goes to School both written by Nigerian authors. Most of the local children's books all had one thing in common, they had a grass to grace story of a suffering child or of a child reaping the consequences of their bad actions. Now that I think of it, that was one weird, overly used plot.

I remember reading foreign children's books also but they weren't memorable enough I guess. The first foreign book I have a memory of is Oliver Twist. I was 8 or 9 years old when I read it and it was quite a fave.

What is the best time to read?

image.png
pexels

The best time to read is anytime for me. I could read both day and night as long as it's in a quiet place. When I was younger, I developed a habit of reading late into the night with a candle because there was mostly no electricity. I particularly liked reading at night because it was quiet and easy to create a mental picture of whatever I read.

Sometimes, however, I find myself in situations where I need to zone out, and in those times, I can read whenever even in the noisiest of places.

In what format do you prefer to read: digital, paper or both?

I will always pick paper print over digital every time for several reasons. I grew up buying books and took pride in the number of books I owned. I kept my books in raffia baskets and always dreamed of owning a bookshelf and a library in my home, a dream that I still want to make a reality. Also, every book lover can attest to loving the smell of books and that's an aura you can't get from digital copies.

It's been about two years since I bought my last paper print and the reason is, I don't read as much as I used to. Books aren't easily accessible in the cities I've lived and a frugal me finds it hard paying extra for delivery if I were to place an order online. This jolted me into the world of digital literature. I had to put my bias for digital copies aside when I found that I had access to a wide array of books at my fingertips, and the best part, they were mostly free.

It wasn't easy at first, but I have slowly adapted to reading on my screen in the last year and I'm happy with my digital library.

What distracts you the most when you read?

image.png
pexels

For me, distractions occur when I'm reading a digital copy because I tend to switch apps to see what's happening everywhere else. If a book doesn't immediately catch my attention, every other thing can distract me. This is the more reason why I prefer print over digital copies.

Favorite genre?

My absolute favorite genre in the world is crime fiction. I find them really entertaining and love the suspense they come with. Playing detective and putting pieces together is always fun, it definitely is linked to my love for puzzles.

image.png
pexels

Asides from fiction, I love encyclopedias. There's an ample amount of did you know information in them that makes for great conversation. Another genre I have a keen interest in is memoirs. I'd pick real-life information and experiences from real people any day over self-help books from 'experts'.

Thanks to @nicxi for this five questions and answer initiative, I totally enjoyed answering them.

ESP

¿Cuál es el primer libro que recuerda haber leído cuando era niño?

Cuando era niño, leí una gran cantidad de libros de cuentos que eran todos de autores locales. Esto se debió a que el plan de estudios de la escuela primaria incluía la lectura de textos literarios para los exámenes. Fue lo que despertó mi temprano interés por la ficción que ha continuado durante todos estos años.

Es difícil precisar el primer libro exacto que leí en ese momento, pero estoy seguro de que fue algo en las líneas de Chike and the River o Eze Goes to School, ambos escritos por autores nigerianos. La mayoría de los libros infantiles locales tenían una cosa en común, tenían una hierba para agraciar la historia de un niño que sufre o de un niño que cosecha las consecuencias de sus malas acciones. Ahora que lo pienso, esa era una trama extraña y demasiado usada.

Recuerdo haber leído libros para niños extranjeros también, pero supongo que no fueron lo suficientemente memorables. El primer libro extranjero del que tengo memoria es Oliver Twist. Tenía 8 o 9 años cuando lo leí y era un favorito.

¿Cuál es el mejor momento para leer?

El mejor momento para leer es en cualquier momento para mí. Podría leer tanto de día como de noche siempre que esté en un lugar tranquilo. Cuando era más joven, desarrollé el hábito de leer hasta altas horas de la noche con una vela porque casi no había electricidad. Me gustó especialmente leer por la noche porque era tranquilo y fácil crear una imagen mental de lo que leía.

A veces, sin embargo, me encuentro en situaciones en las que necesito desconectarme y, en esos momentos, puedo leer en cualquier momento, incluso en los lugares más ruidosos.

¿En qué formato prefiere leer: digital, papel o ambos?

Siempre elegiré la impresión en papel en lugar de la digital por varias razones. Crecí comprando libros y me enorgullecía la cantidad de libros que tenía. Guardé mis libros en cestas de rafia y siempre soñé con tener una estantería y una biblioteca en mi casa, un sueño que todavía quiero hacer realidad. Además, todos los amantes de los libros pueden dar fe de que les encanta el olor de los libros y ese es un aura que no se puede obtener de las copias digitales.

Han pasado aproximadamente dos años desde que compré mi última impresión en papel y la razón es que no leo tanto como solía hacerlo. Los libros no son de fácil acceso en las ciudades en las que he vivido y para mí, frugal, es difícil pagar más por la entrega si hiciera un pedido en línea. Esto me lanzó al mundo de la literatura digital. Tuve que dejar de lado mi preferencia por las copias digitales cuando descubrí que tenía acceso a una amplia variedad de libros al alcance de la mano y, lo mejor de todo, eran en su mayoría gratuitos.

Al principio no fue fácil, pero me he ido adaptando poco a poco a la lectura en mi pantalla durante el último año y estoy contento con mi biblioteca digital.

¿Qué te distrae más cuando lees?

Para mí, las distracciones ocurren cuando leo una copia digital porque tiendo a cambiar de aplicación para ver qué sucede en todas partes. Si un libro no me llama la atención de inmediato, cualquier otra cosa puede distraerme. Esta es la razón principal por la que prefiero la impresión a las copias digitales.

Género favorito?

Mi género favorito en el mundo es la ficción criminal. Los encuentro realmente entretenidos y me encanta el suspenso con el que vienen. Jugar al detective y armar piezas siempre es divertido, definitivamente está relacionado con mi amor por los rompecabezas.

Aparte de la ficción, me encantan las enciclopedias. Hay una gran cantidad de información que sabías en ellos que hace que la conversación sea excelente. Otro género en el que tengo un gran interés son las memorias. Escogería información y experiencias de la vida real de personas reales cualquier día en lugar de libros de autoayuda de 'expertos'.

Gracias a @nicxi por esta iniciativa de cinco preguntas y respuestas, disfruté mucho respondiéndolas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency