Write the Book You Would Love to Read - Another Update on my Upcoming Hypersensitivosaurus Book(s)

Sometimes I wonder if my life is all about coffee and dinos...

I am joking, of course, but I love to find parallels. Honestly, the aforementioned themes are pretty present in my life these days or I make sure they are.

It isnt' a coincidence that my upcoming book is titled: Hypersensitivosaurus and Cold Turkey. Nor is it an accident that both characters could be seen as ( some of ) my alter egos.

Suffice to say that my senses are easily triggered extremely developed and that too much or too little caffeine is definitely one way to get my mind ( and my body ) racing.

The more I think about it, the more it makes sense that I ended up with a story centering around a hyperactive/ hypersensitive running reptile and a highly sensitive running bird named Cold Turkey.


Talking about coffee and dinos...

Yesterday, I woke up to the following notification in my browser:

Well Done!
You got your first Ko-fi!

It was pretty exciting and put a smile on my face.


2021-08-19.png


I found out that my ( younger but not so ) li'l bro had become my very first supporter on Ko-Fi.

In all honesty, I asked him if he' be willing to do so. He's an amazing creative ( and successful indie game developer ) and I've followed his creative journey from the start ( I was 9 yrs old when he was born ). I always supported him and he has been reciprocating that for quite some time now.

I intentionally asked him to support me, as his support means a lot to me and I knew I could count on him.

From now on, I plan to slowly build a bigger audience ( outside of Hive ) of creative supporters, by using Twitter and LinkedIn, among other places, as well as real life connections. Let's see where all that leads to...

After having walked into the nearest village this morning, the generous support of my brother made me decide to indulge in dois cafes cheios, um pastel de nata, uma tosta mista e uma agua das pedras.

Here is a picture of the first round and my way of thanking my brother for his support.

Screenshot_2021-08-20-14-24-03-709_com.whatsapp.jpg

I should probably have kept it to this one espresso, but the force isn't always strong in this one.


I also sent my brother a picture of the view from the terrace. And, in return, he wished me an enjoyable coffee/ brunch experience.

This is how we roll!


Where was I...

the coffee is still making my mind race, hours later.

This is kind of a follow up to the previous From now on you can buy me a coffee and a pastel de nata and further support me on my creative journey where I first told the world the new kids on the blockchain about my Ko-Fi page and

for those who missed it

informed them that I seem to be selling my house soonish.

Exciting times ( with or without a caffeine boost )!


Today I planned to talk about my creative process.

If you looked at the coffee table picture carefully, you might have noticed ( one of my ) notebook(s), a green one, as well as a blue pen.

I actually brought two notebooks along with me, as well as a couple of pens/ markers.

Nevertheless, I spent most of the time merely browsing through those little notebooks, as well as recording a creative thought that I had, with the audio recording app on my phone.

This morning's writing related insights were mainly concerned with the form of my book ( a recurring pattern ) and can be summarized as follows:

I want to find a way to share the creative process ( in the actual book and not just online ).

Two possibilities to do so came to mind:

    • adding screenshots of pages from my notebooks ( related to the book in question ) to the book, as a separate Part ( after the story ).
    • adding these pages ( containing text and or illustrations ) throughout the book.

If I do indeed decide to go for this extra content, I will probably go for option 1., merely to not interrupt the flow and make it look and feel a little less chaotic than the inside of my usually hyperactive and rarely calm mind.

Feel free to let me know what you would prefer.

Any thoughts on this @ryivhnn ?

Let me wrap things up with some examples of notebook pages that give you an idea of what might end up in ( Part 2 aka The Creative Process part ) of my book(s):

For your information: these pages aren't necessarily related to my first book, as many of them came into existence a long time before the idea for Hypersenisitivosaurus and Cold Turkey crystallized.

IMG_20210820_110352.jpg


Talking about the 'nano wrimo recycling' part is one of many attempts to actually do more with the 50 thousand words that I wrote in November 2019 when I participated - for the first and - up till now - last time - in National Novel Writing Month. Perhaps I should just accept that it eventually lead to this series of books and accept that no one / hardly one will ever read these pages nor that I'll edit them into an actual novel.


IMG_20210820_110438.jpg


The above text, written in red, is a very rough note.
Which doesn't necessarily mean that it's a bad idea ;<)


IMG_20210820_112036.jpg

The Mrs. Porcupine and fear hare text was actually included in an art work that can be found here:

MrsPatFH.png

Mrs Porcupine and the Fear Hare in my NFT Showroom gallery

The red and green drawing underneath it became an artwork in itself. The two pages are totally unrelated. It's just that they ended up next to each other in my notebook. The piece, titled 'Monster Fight', can be bought for 30 Hive here:

Dino Fight in my NFT Showroom Gallery

One of my bff's - @selfhelp4trolls was kind enough to buy is the proud owner of one of the 4 existing digital editions.

Let me end it here with a drawing of Hypersensitivosaurus, who is losing his calm, when an oatmeal pancake ends up on his head ( after flipping it in the air ).

IMG_20210820_112513.jpg

That picture is part of the Hypersensitivosaurus and M.M. Wolf story ( M.M. stands for Mildly Mannered ), based on my long distance friendship ( and chess games ) with @inuke , who lives in India.


I am happy to have discovered that adding these little notebook anecdotes do indeed feel like a nice addition to my book(s).

The next step is to find a way to provide my Hive followers, ( future ) book readers, Ko-Fi supporters and ( last and probably also least ) Twitter followers with somewhat distinguished content. As a creative, I don't like copy pasting, if you get what I mean. Let's see if I can find a way.

Now let me conclude today's writing with a mantra/ some words of wisdom that stuck with me ( taken from a podcast I listened to a while ago ):

write the book that you would love to read.

Although it referred to self help books, I like to think that it's applicable to any kind of book ( both in form and content ).

The aforementioned - writing what I would love to read - is exactly what I am doing and I'm pretty sure this will only make it more enjoyable for my readers.

Much love,

Vincent

aka hypersensitivosaurus
aka cold turkey


If you want to support my creativity even further, you can click on this banner and:

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Would you rather buy me something healthy and you're active on Hive,
you can also buy me berries and send me some HBD by clicking on this cute little banner:

@anafae , a good friend and amazing creative, here on Hive, was so sweet to send me some berries ( HBD ) after my previous write up. Obrigado, amiga! :<)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency