Time to start Focusing on Finishing my First Book ( as an adult ) but first...

IMG_20211015_131411.jpg

In case you were wondering, from the title:

No, I'm not talking about focusing like an adult. I merely mean to say that I wrote, illustrated and finished a lot of ( little ) books as a kid.

In fact, writing stories and accompanying them with drawings has been a pretty common thing for me, since I was able to write ( stories ).

I hereby apologize to all the trees that have gone through my hands. Just now that it was all for a good cause...

I can't help but feel that I have gotten worse in finishing stories since the digital age took over. Let's say that editing is partially to blame for this.

Editing as well as shattered focus. You should see the inside of my brain ( figuratively )...

When is something actually finished if you can keep making changes easily?

The same goes for ( finishing ) movie projects and editing video. Been there, done that. And I left a lot of projects unfinished ( including three feature film projects, that I started on ).*

Now I think of it, two of those three projects actually had a finished screenplay, so at least the story was finished :<)


IMG_20211015_130829 (2).jpg

I wanted to jokingly say that I was going to make this a short post as I should really focusing on finishing my book but I can't help it, I am a storyteller, not a summarizer...


IMG_20211015_131730.jpg


I'm gonna cut it short here anyway. No matter how much I like to talk and write ( and read ) about the creative process, it tends to distract from the actual creating and the latter is what I want to focus a litte more on, starting today.

Accompanying this post you find a bunch of drawings and stories ( in Dutch ) that I wrote in school, after finishing that day's work ( with permission from my then teacher, Barbara ). Some of the drawings/ stories are from 1989 ( when I was 7 ), others from 93, aged 11 or 12.

I couldn't help but adding the dino drawing and the one with a creature resembling a dino ( I called it a 'vishapper', Dutch for fish biter ).

And now it's time to get back to my current dino writing...
It would be awesome if I could finish my first adult book: Hypersensitivosaurus and Cold Turkey before the end of the year.

*I am meeting / attracting more and more people who are into filmmaking in my current life, so who knows what that will lead to in the near future. I am sure I will get back to some sort of filmmaking again, over time.

IMG_20211015_130457.jpg

HELP help help help HELP!
I am a ghost from the 12th century

( early 1989 )


Some explanation on the top drawing with the baby T-Rex. The old woman is based on a word joke. In Dutch we call an old woman an 'old pie' at times ( and that isn't a compliment ).

The dino splatters some mice with his paw. This is also a Dutch word joke. In The Netherlands we have something called 'Mashed Mice'. It doesn't contain any meat but is in fact some kind of powdered sugar with anise, best eaten on buttered toast or beschuitjes.

TO BE CONVINUED...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency