This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

NO SPOILERS | "THE GRACE YEAR" - REVIEW | "EL AÑO DE GRACIA" - RESEÑA [ENG/ESP]

1_20230829_223315_0000.jpg

English cover | Portada en español

Puntos.png

Idiomas.jpeg

Puntos.png

Hello, bookhivers! I hope you are doing great, I missed you a lot these weeks, but I'm back. If you're a new reader, welcome, I'm Nieves Gamboa, a hardcore reader addicted to romance, mystery and fantasy; today we'll talk about "El Año De Gracia" or "The Grace Year" in English.
¡Hola, bookhivers! Espero estén de maravilla, los extrañé mucho estas semanas, pero ya estoy de vuelta. Si eres nuevo lector, bienvenido, soy Nieves Gamboa, lectora empedernida adicta al romance, el misterio y la fantasía; hoy hablaremos sobre “El Año De Gracia” o “The Grace Year” en inglés.

I honestly hadn't read a teen dystopia in a long time, remember back in 2012 when it was super trendy? The funny thing is that this dystopia was published in 2019 so it's pretty recent. I saw it on Instagram and my expectations for it were high, maybe too high.
Sinceramente llevaba mucho tiempo sin leer una distopía adolescente, ¿recuerdan por allá en el 2012 cuando estaba súper de moda? Lo curioso es que esta distopía fue publicada en 2019 así que es bastante reciente. La vi en Instagram y mis expectativas sobre ella eran muchas, quizá demasiadas.

Puntos.png

Sinopsis.jpeg

Puntos.png

The women of Garner County grow up believing that when they reach the age of sixteen their skin exhales a magic of youth that drives men mad and kills wives with jealousy. To purify that magic they are sent into exile in groups for a year in the forest to return ready for marriage, but not all of them come back alive. Nobody talks about the year of grace, it is forbidden, Tierney, our protagonist, does not even imagine what she is facing.
La mujeres del condado de Garner crecen creyendo que al alcanzar los dieciséis años de edad su piel exhala una magia de la juventud que vuelve locos a los hombres y mata de celos a las esposas. Para purificar esa magia son enviadas al exilio en grupos durante un año en el bosque para que vuelvan listas para el matrimonio, pero no todas vuelven con vida. Nadie habla del año de gracia, está prohibido, Tierney, nuestra protagonista, ni siquiera imagina a lo que se enfrenta.

Puntos.png

Reseña.jpeg

Puntos.png

I have to say that as a dystopia it seems to lift you higher and higher and then all of a sudden it's lazy, I don't know how to explain it. I guess I'm used to faster teen dystopias in the style of "The Hunger Games" or "Maze Runner". It's quite frustrating in my opinion, not because it's a bad book, but because the main character suffers a lot and you really have a hard time with her.
Tengo que decir que como distopía parece elevarte más y más y de repente queda floja, no sé cómo explicarlo. Creo que estoy acostumbrada a las distopías adolescentes más rápidas al estilo de “Los Juegos Del Hambre” o “Maze Runner”. Es bastante frustrante a mi parecer, no porque sea mal libro, sino porque la protagonista sufre mucho y de verdad lo pasas mal con ella.

The society you are introduced to is curious, because it is supposed to be a dystopian world where women are treated inferior and antagonized by the collective without any justification and, as I read it, it was like watching someone add nuance to today's society. As a woman you can relate very easily.
La sociedad que te presentan es curiosa, porque se supone que es un mundo distópico donde las mujeres son tratadas con inferioridad y enemistadas entre ellas por el colectivo sin ninguna justificación y, mientras lo leía, era como ver a alguien añadirle matices a la sociedad actual. Como mujer te puedes identificar muy fácil.

Puntos.png

81wbNosepBL.jpg

Kim Liggett - Author

Puntos.png

My conflict of opinions with this book is that as a dystopia it is a bit slow and predictable, I would have liked to be more surprised and not to give too many plot twists before they happen, there were twists that I did not expect but I still did not like so much. On the other hand, as social criticism it is very good.
Mi conflicto de opiniones con este libro es que como distopía es un poco lento y predescible, me hubiese gustado sorprenderme más y no dar con muchos giros de trama antes de que ocurran, había giros que no esperaba pero que igual no me gustaron tanto. Por otro lado, como crítica social es muy bueno.

If you are a woman and you like fantasy, I do recommend reading it. It touches important fibers about sorority, feminism, machismo in society. My conflict is clear in the ending, as a dystopia it has an ending that does not satisfy me, but as a woman I must accept that it was simple but powerful. It knows what it wants to say from beginning to end, I would have wanted a second part, but I understand that it is not here to be an action book.
Si eres mujer y te gusta la fantasía, sí te recomiendo leerlo. Toca fibras importantes sobre la sororidad, el feminismo, el machismo en la sociedad. Mi conflicto se muestra clara en el final, como distopía tiene un final que no me satisface, pero como mujer debo aceptar que fue sencillo pero potente. Sabe lo que quiere decir de principio a fin, yo hubiese querido una segunda parte, pero entiendo que no está aquí para ser un libro de acción.

The world that Kim Liggett, the author, built for us is very well done, I like how in the end many details are subtly assembled. Even the character that I feel is just there for the sake of being there has its function.
El mundo que Kim Liggett, la autora, construyó para nosotros está muy bien hecho, me gusta como al final muchos detalles se ensamblan sutilmente. Hasta el personaje que yo siento que está ahí por estar, tiene su función.

Puntos.png

Puntuación.jpeg

Puntos.png

If I think it's a book worth reading and pondering and is quite entertaining, it's a good 3.5/5.
Si creo que es un libro que merece ser leído y reflexionado y es bastante entretenido, es un buen 3.5/5.

Hey, once again we are at the end of a review. I hope you liked it, remember you can leave me your opinion about the book in the comments, please recommend me more dystopias, I'm looking forward to more. I send you a hug.
¡Hey! De nuevo estamos en el final de una reseña. Espero te haya gustado, recuerda que puedes dejarme tu opinión sobre el libro en los comentarios, plis recomiéndenme más distopías, quedé con ganas de más. Les mando un apapacho.

Puntos.png

Créditos.jpeg

Puntos.png

The text was translated in DeepL App; the cover and dividers were edited in Canva App and each image has its respective font.
El texto fue traducido en DeepL App; la portada y los divisores fueron editados en Canva App y cada imagen tiene su respectiva fuente.

Final.jpg