The painful voice of the trees The Lorax [Eng | Spa]

Hello Hive Book Club community!

From the line "I am the Lorax. I speak for the trees.
I speak for the trees, for the trees have no tongues" up until the very end of the book I can feel how utterly powerless is nature against the machinations of mankind, this is my opening line before nothing else because this is the true nature of the Lorax as a book, Dr. Seuss is a messenger, of nature itself nothing less.

The Lorax is a masterpiece of Dr.Seuss about consumerism, corporations, pollution, and nature, because it introduces those concepts to children, maybe in a harsh and unrelenting perspective according to some, but in an honest and faceless(Especially in that one) way.

Intro

You see, is a personal belief that all good literature will die if you just shelve it forever, as functional autism with superb memory I find it unneeded to keep my books, those few books that I keep are mostly presents that were given to me and have sentimental value, why I'm saying that of the blue?

Because I gifted my Fisical copy of this book to an environmental loving girl a decade ago, it was my present on her ninth birthday, she grew up to become "someone who cares a whole awful lot", gifting a book can help others, the books are the seeds of knowledge, just as the Once-ler seed given to the curious child(The reader), sometimes is not about doing an immediate effect, sometimes is about teaching the next generation.

Gifted to Michelle

Uploaded by Anniespratt in Unsplash

Let me get into the details, my god how I loved the concept of Thneed, just to imagine a utilitarian close that everybody would find useful that at the same time is useless and a complete waste of time, this concept did wonders to me as I grew up, each time I saw one of those "You need this item" TV ads I remembered this Thneed, it just flashes back into my mind and I skipped those ads mentally, a total waste of lifity-lify and monity-miny.

Yeah, that was a lame attempt at writing like Dr. Seuss, he was amazing at it, me, not so much. That is another element I want to talk about, the fact that even in a children's book you can easily see how much Seuss was able to modify and play with language, trying to do it fun, to add his particular brand of nonsense just as some parts of his books, is that particular vibe he added to his stories, not like a bossy old man but like a smiling friend telling you his past, that is The Lorax I remember.

Those TVs ads I said before are mostly seen as useless junk made of plastic, some people find them useful, don't get me wrong, some of them are useful to a specific work, but I don't get what purpose could a duck whistle be in a city where there are no ducks.

TV ads

Uploaded by introspectivedsgn in Unsplash

But where does "UNLESS." fits in real life, as a parent I find it that it is not meant for us to do something's anymore, I would plant a tree, but I might not see it fully grow until I die of old age, and who is going to take care of it when I'm gone? Yet a small child could and would get to see it as an adult tree, meaning that they would have a lifetime to take care of it, to see it grow and form, to be there for nature in its purest form, if my Sofía can learn from me something is to keep her connection to nature alive, vibrant and strong.

We have as a species a strong natural bond with the earth, yet we have denied it for modern life, we still need it anyway, but we just closed the door and ignore the silent screams of the trees we cut, mankind has become oblivious to its deeds on nature, to its role in the balance we have broken.

Teaching the next generations how to bring back the balance means a lot, how to not support consumerism and inefficient technological advance, because tech can be nature friendly, it doesn't have to be an enemy of nature, even cutting trees can become efficient if we plant more than we cut, Once-ler was just devastating nature, but we can hope for balance, for change, for peace with nature, we need nature, we need the Truffula Trees.

Truffula Trees

Uploaded by taylorheeryphoto in Unsplash

I'm going to mention a line that I love: ''And Truffula Trees are what everyone needs" as a bottom line for this part, one way or another this book might be light on words but heavy on meaning, it is one hell of a work to communicate what it seems to be just a misunderstanding about The Lorax.

The Lorax and the Once-ler are two sides of the coin, Lorax has some part of humanity as much as he is part of nature, he can't fight us as we are part of nature as much as the Humming fish, Swomee-Swans, and Brown Bar-ba-loots, we are the ones taking a larger share on the story, and that is the lesson of Dr.Seuss.

The look

Provided by Drseussart as part of the Authorized gallery of The Lorax.

In the end, all that I'm left of this memory is that I need to rebuy the book on Spanish, so I can teach it to Sofía, as that small girl I gift it to is now in another country far away from my reach, but still following the teachings of the book as she is a Biologist student, what a worthy present it was.

Made by me on CanvaPro

I hope you enjoyed my nonsense attempt at Dr.Seuss' language rimes along with this, I would score almost all Dr.Seuss works at max, always, not for the nostalgia of my childhood but for the lessons he gave me in the form of nonsense and laughing. Have you ever read one of Dr. Seuss's works before? I will read you in the comments below.


Spanish


¡Hola comunidad de Hive Book Club!

Desde la línea "Soy el Lorax. Hablo en nombre de los árboles. Hablo en nombre de los árboles, porque los árboles no tienen lengua" hasta el final del libro puedo sentir la total impotencia de la naturaleza frente a las maquinaciones de la humanidad, esta es mi línea de apertura antes que nada porque esta es la verdadera naturaleza del Lorax como libro, el Dr. Seuss es un mensajero, de la propia naturaleza nada menos.

El Lorax es una obra maestra del Dr.Seuss sobre el consumismo, las corporaciones, la contaminación y la naturaleza, porque introduce esos conceptos a los niños, tal vez en una perspectiva dura e implacable según algunos, pero de una manera honesta y sin rostro, sobre todo en ese sentido.

Portada

Verán, es una creencia personal que toda la buena literatura morirá si la guardas para siempre, como autista funcional con magnífica memoria encuentro innecesario guardar mis libros, esos pocos libros que guardo son en su mayoría regalos que me hicieron y tienen valor sentimental, ¿Por qué lo digo repentinamente?

Puesto regalé mi copia Fisica de este libro a una niña amante del medio ambiente hace una década, fue mi regalo en su noveno cumpleaños, ella creció y se convirtió en "alguien que se preocupa muchísimo", regalar un libro puede ayudar a otros, los libros son las semillas del conocimiento, al igual que la semilla de Fueuna-Vez dada al niño curioso(El lector), a veces no se trata de hacer un efecto inmediato, a veces se trata de enseñar a la siguiente generación.

Regalo

Subido por KiraaufderHeide en Unsplash

Déjenme entrar en detalles, como me encantaba el concepto de Thneed, solo imaginar una ropa utilitaria que todo el mundo encontraría útil que al mismo tiempo es inútil y una completa pérdida de tiempo, este concepto hizo maravillas en mí mientras crecía, cada vez que veía uno de esos anuncios de televisión de "Necesitas este artículo" me acordaba de este Thneed, simplemente me venía a la mente y me saltaba esos anuncios mentalmente, una total pérdida de vidili-vide y diniri-dine.

Sí, eso fue un intento de escribir como el Dr. Seuss, él era increíble en eso, yo, no tanto. Ese es otro elemento del que quiero hablar, el hecho de que incluso en un libro para niños se puede ver fácilmente hasta qué punto Seuss era capaz de modificar y jugar con el lenguaje, intentando hacerlo divertido, para añadir su particular marca de tonterías al igual que algunas partes de sus libros, es esa particular vibra que añadía a sus historias, no como un viejo mandón sino como un amigo sonriente que te cuenta su pasado, ese es El Lorax que recuerdo.

Esos anuncios de televisores que dije antes son vistos en su mayoría como trastos inútiles hechos de plástico, hay gente que los encuentra útiles, no me malinterpreten, algunos son útiles para un trabajo específico, pero no entiendo qué propósito podría tener un silbato para patos en una ciudad donde no hay patos.

Las propagandas de Tv son ruido

Subido por FranJacquier en Unsplash

Pero donde encaja el "A menos" en la vida real, como padre me parece que no está destinado que hagamos algo más nosotros, yo plantaría un árbol, pero puede que no lo vea crecer del todo hasta que me muera de viejo, y ¿Quién lo va a cuidar cuando yo no esté? Sin embargo, un niño pequeño podría y llegaría a verlo como un árbol adulto, lo que significa que tendría toda una vida para cuidarlo, para verlo crecer y formarse, para estar al lado de la naturaleza en su forma más pura, si mi Sofía puede aprender de mí algo es a mantener su conexión con la naturaleza viva, vibrante y fuerte.

Tenemos como especie un fuerte vínculo natural con la tierra, sin embargo lo hemos negado por la vida moderna, de todas formas lo necesitamos, pero simplemente cerramos la puerta e ignoramos los gritos silenciosos de los árboles que cortamos, la humanidad se ha vuelto ajena a sus actos sobre la naturaleza, a su papel en el equilibrio que hemos roto.

Enseñar a las próximas generaciones cómo devolver el equilibrio significa mucho, cómo no apoyar el consumismo y el avance tecnológico ineficiente, porque la tecnología puede ser amigable con la naturaleza, no tiene por qué ser enemiga de la naturaleza, incluso la tala de árboles puede llegar a ser eficiente si plantamos más de los que cortamos, Fueuna-Vez sólo estaba devastando la naturaleza, pero podemos esperar el equilibrio, un cambio, la paz con la naturaleza, necesitamos a la naturaleza, necesitamos los árboles de Truffula.

Los arboles de Palma son las Truffulas de la vida real

Uploaded by CorbinMathias in Unsplash

Voy a mencionar una línea que me encanta: ''Y los árboles de Truffula son lo que todo el mundo necesita" como línea de fondo para esta parte, de una manera u otra este libro puede ser ligero en palabras pero pesado en significado, es un trabajo pesado el comunicar lo que parece ser sólo un malentendido sobre El Lorax.

El Lorax y el Fueuna-Vez son las dos caras de la moneda, el Lorax tiene una parte de humanidad tanto como es parte de la naturaleza, no puede luchar contra nosotros ya que somos parte de la naturaleza tanto como los Peces Zum-zumbantes, Cisnes-Cis-neros, y los Bar-Ba-luz marrón, somos los que toman una parte más grande en la historia, y esa es la lección del Dr.Seuss con su cuento.

El Lorax mirandonos

Provisto por Drseussart como parte de su galeria Authorizada de la obra El Lorax.

Al final, lo único que me queda de este recuerdo es que tengo que volver a comprar el libro en español, para poder enseñárselo a Sofía, ya que aquella pequeña a la que se lo regalé está ahora en otro país lejos de mi alcance, pero sigue las enseñanzas del libro ya que es estudiante de Biología, qué digno regalo fue.

Hecho por mi en CanvaPro

Espero que les haya gustado mi intento de disparate y rimas propio del lenguaje del Dr.Seuss, yo puntuaría casi todas las obras del Dr.Seuss al máximo, siempre, no por la nostalgia de mi infancia sino por las lecciones que me dio en forma de disparate y risas. ¿Has leído alguna vez alguna de las obras del Dr. Seuss? Te leo en los comentarios de abajo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency