Hispaliterario 20 / Bajo Ataque - Under Attack

Español

angel-gf8e0ea804_1280.jpg

Fuente

Bajo Ataque

Era 12 de Febrero del año 1945 el ocaso de la guerra parecía estar muy cerca, yo era un joven de 14 años, mi padre había muerto en el frente oriental, mi hermano había caído mientras combatía en Normandía, mi hermana murió al ser alcanzada por una bomba aliada, mi madre era lo único que me quedaba, yo entendía que el camino que había tomado mi país era el equivocado y que la opulencia y el desarrollo que habíamos vivido en años previos fue construido a base de muchas vidas inocentes, a pesar de ser un niño comprendía que los errores de una política basada en la radicalización y la supremacía en algún momento nos iban a pasar factura, pero jamás pensé vivir el horror de aquellos días.

Un día antes había finalizado la Conferencia de Yalta y se decía que los lideres aliados posaban ante las cámaras en aptitud triunfante, el sentimiento de terror inundaba las calles de mi ciudad y entre ataques y bombas muchos preferían huir antes de ser capturados por las tropas extranjeras de las cuales se hablaban horrores. Mi madre siempre con una aptitud muy calmada comenzó a preparar unas maletas y me dijo que el día miércoles a primera hora buscaríamos un nuevo rumbo, a la mañana siguiente una sensación rara, inundaba las calles, una rara tranquilidad se unía a un profundo silencio que hacía juego con un clima nublado y lluvioso, en medio de este ambiente tétrico mi mama trataba de tener el control de todo y buscaba darle un poco de normalidad a ese día.

Esa noche el clima había mejorado, el cielo estaba despejado y casi no había brisa, cuando el reloj marcaba las 09:51pm las alarmas de bombardeo comenzaron a sonar por toda la ciudad, de inmediato mi mama se levantó, me tomo por la mano y corriendo fuimos al pequeño sótano de la casa, el cual nos había protegido en ataques anteriores, casi una hora después comenzó a temblar la tierra, el trepidante sonido de las explosiones era escalofriante y el rugir de grandes bombardeos era capaz de traspasar las gruesas paredes del sótano. A todo esto, mi mama me abrazaba con fuerza, me miraba a los ojos y me decía que todo estaría bien, que la mañana siguiente escaparíamos de ese tormento y llegaríamos a u lugar mejor.

Pasaban las horas y las bombas seguían cayendo, yo había perdido la noción del tiempo, el calor era cada vez más intenso y mi madre estaba agotada, era evidente que la situación ya superaba los limites de la relativa normalidad y es cuando ella se me acerca y me dice que me quede tranquilo, ella saldrá a buscar agua y algo de pan, además asumo que quería ver como estaba la situación en las calles, yo muerto de miedo solo pude asentir con la cabeza y solo pensaba en que ese horror pasara y pudiéramos encontrar un lugar lindo donde vivir sin las zozobra de la guerra.

Pasaron unos 15 minutos cuando mi madre abrió de golpe la puerta del sótano, gritando me dijo que subiera, al verla me llene de miedo, ya que su cara estaba pálida sus brazos ensangrentados y parte de su ropa estaba quemada, al tomarme por la mano me dijo que era hora de huir, que debíamos correr sin parar, la casa estaba destruida, las calles llenas de humo, el calor era incesante y el olor a carne quemada, las cenizas y el polvo hacían casi imposible respirar, mi mama con mucha fuerza guiaba mis pasos mientras que cientos de personas nos rodeaban en un mar de humanidad que buscaba escapar del torbellino de fuego que se encontraba avanzando sobre el centro de la ciudad. A unos 200 metros de nuestra casa restos desmembrados llenaban las calles, en ese momento me tropecé y caí de frente, apenas reaccione cuando mi mama me tomo con fuerza, me puso de pie y volvió a arrearme hacia adelante, varios pasos más allá el sonido de los B-17 anunciaban otra oleada de bombas sobre nosotros, es en ese momento cuando mi madre corrió hasta la puerta de un edificio casi en ruinas, con su hombro la tumbo y como corrió conmigo hasta el sótano, me dio un beso en la mejilla se colocó sobre mí y aguantamos juntos la envestida, más explosiones, mucho humo, demasiado calor y pedazos de escombros caían sobre su espalda, la sangre corría por todo su cuerpo y el dolor se marcaba en las facciones de su cara, mientras que su mirada seguía siendo tierna y llena de esperanza.

Un par de horas mas tarde un suspiro profundo era el aviso que me indicaba que la marcha debía continuar, mi madre con un andar mas lento pero decidido intentaba correr conmigo hacia los campos fuera de la ciudad, a nuestras espaldas la destrucción y el humo encerraban un verdadero infierno sobre la tierra, los gritos y el llanto de millones se escuchaba a una sola voz, era el clamor de un pueblo que sufría por los errores de otros, de los bolsillos de sus pantalones ella sacaba migajas de pan que llevaba a mi boca y de un bolso que colgaba de su espalda cada cierto tiempo sacaba un pote de agua que me servía de hidratación, así recorrimos muchos metros por una ciudad destruida, bajo el calor de las bombas y con un atierra que no dejaba de temblar, ya sobre el filo de la tarde del día 15 un escuadrón de aviones Lancaster de la Real Fuerza Aérea irrumpieron el cielo y sin darnos tiempo soltaron a nuestro alrededor una inmensa cantidad de bombas, solo podíamos correr y correr sin parar, ya no sentía mis pies, pero mi madre seguía empujando con fuerza, cuando de repente una esquirla de un proyectil de fosforo atravesó el brazo de mi madre, sentí como de pronto mi mano se apretó y al mismo tiempo se aflojo hasta que vi caer al suelo los dedos con su anillo de bodas, solo pude voltear y ver como ella gritaba, pero sin parar me tomo con la otra mano y corrió, en ese momento saco fuerzas de donde no las tenia y sin parar recorrimos mucha distancia, hasta que las calles desaparecieron, los edificios estaban atrás y a nuestro alrededor solo había una planicie llena de sembradíos y en donde mucha gente miraba con terror la destrucción de aquella ciudad.

Ese día perdí todo lo que tenía, ese día me convertí en un huérfano más de la guerra, ese día mi país estaba de rodillas y la bella Dresde era un montón de piedras calcinadas, pero gracias a al empuje y el valor de mi madre yo tuve la oportunidad de vivir, de ver como se reconstruyo la ciudad y como Europa se convirtió en un continente unido y pujante, ahora cada domingo la visito y bajo la sombra de los árboles le dejo flores y converso con ella, contándole las novedades de mi vida y las cosas geniales que la modernidad nos trajo, ya a mi avanzada edad se que pronto la encontrare de nuevo y cuando llegue ese momento sé que me recibirá con los brazos abierto, un beso en la mejilla y su mirada brillante llena de profunda ternura.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCg43AbXDuHD2o1pSFmw9t6dCJZXRjDbN9aPZzKb2txM6rGEuPnKkx8GfXnLduM6tAzK3DNLBdCNF2RY6M647qH2B1qbjaJ97h6csSDeEmwq9rE.jpg

English

angel-gf8e0ea804_1280.jpg

Source

Under Attack

It was February 12, 1945, the end of the war seemed to be very near, I was a young boy of 14 years old, my father had died in the eastern front, my brother had fallen while fighting in Normandy, my sister died when she was hit by an allied bomb, my mother was the only thing I had left, I understood that the path my country had taken was the wrong one and that the opulence and development we had experienced in previous years had been built on the basis of many innocent lives, despite being a child I understood that the mistakes of a policy based on radicalization and supremacy would take their toll at some point, but I never thought I would live through the horror of those days.

The day before the Yalta Conference had ended and it was said that the allied leaders were posing before the cameras in triumphant attitude, the feeling of terror flooded the streets of my city and between attacks and bombs many preferred to flee rather than be captured by the foreign troops of which there was talk of horrors. My mother always with a very calm attitude began to prepare some suitcases and told me that first thing Wednesday morning we would look for a new direction, the next morning a strange feeling flooded the streets, a rare tranquility joined a deep silence that matched with a cloudy and rainy weather, in the midst of this gloomy atmosphere my mother tried to have control of everything and tried to give a little normality to that day.

That night the weather had improved, the sky was clear and there was almost no breeze, when the clock struck 09:51pm the bombing alarms began to sound throughout the city, immediately my mom got up, took me by the hand and running we went to the small basement of the house, which had protected us in previous attacks, almost an hour later began to shake the earth, the thundering sound of explosions was chilling and the roar of large bombings was able to pierce the thick walls of the basement. During all this, my mother hugged me tightly, looked me in the eyes and told me that everything would be all right, that the next morning we would escape from this torment and get to a better place.

The hours passed and the bombs kept falling, I had lost track of time, the heat was increasingly intense and my mother was exhausted, it was evident that the situation was already beyond the limits of relative normality and that is when she approached me and told me to stay calm, She will go out to get water and some bread, and I assume that she wanted to see how the situation was in the streets, I, scared to death, could only nod my head and only thought that the horror would pass and we could find a nice place to live without the anxiety of war.

About 15 minutes passed when my mother suddenly opened the basement door, shouting she told me to go upstairs, when I saw her I was filled with fear, her face was pale, her arms were bloody and part of her clothes were burned, taking me by the hand she told me it was time to flee, we had to run without stopping, the house was destroyed, the streets were full of smoke, the heat was incessant and the smell of burning flesh, ashes and dust made it almost impossible to breathe, my mother with great strength guided my steps while hundreds of people surrounded us in a sea of humanity seeking to escape the whirlwind of fire that was advancing over the center of the city. About 200 meters from our house dismembered remains filled the streets, at that moment I stumbled and fell forward, I barely reacted when my mother grabbed me with force, put me on my feet and pulled me forward again, several steps further the sound of the B-17 announced another wave of bombs on us, it is at that moment when my mother ran to the door of a building almost in ruins, with her shoulder I knocked her down and as she ran with me to the basement, she gave me a kiss on the cheek and stood over me and we endured the onslaught together, more explosions, lots of smoke, too much heat and pieces of debris fell on her back, blood ran all over her body and the pain was marked on the features of her face, while her look was still tender and full of hope.

A couple of hours later a deep sigh was the warning that told me that the march should continue, my mother with a slower but determined gait tried to run with me towards the fields outside the city, behind us the destruction and smoke enclosed a real hell on earth, the screams and cries of millions could be heard in one voice, It was the clamor of a people suffering for the mistakes of others, from the pockets of her pants she took crumbs of bread to my mouth and from a bag that hung on her back every so often she took out a pot of water that served as hydration, so we traveled many meters through a destroyed city, under the heat of the bombs and with an earth that did not stop shaking, By the afternoon of the 15th a squadron of Lancaster planes of the Royal Air Force burst into the sky and without giving us time they dropped around us a huge amount of bombs, we could only run and run without stopping, I could no longer feel my feet, but my mother kept pushing hard, when suddenly a splinter of a phosphorus shell pierced my mother's arm, I felt how suddenly my hand tightened and at the same time loosened until I saw the fingers with her wedding ring fall to the ground, I could only turn around and see how she screamed, but without stopping she grabbed me with her other hand and ran, at that moment she took strength from where she had none and without stopping we went a long distance, until the streets disappeared, the buildings were behind and around us there was only a plain full of crops and where many people looked with terror at the destruction of that city.

That day I lost everything I had, that day I became one more orphan of the war, that day my country was on its knees and the beautiful Dresden was a pile of burnt stones, but thanks to my mother's drive and courage I had the opportunity to live, to see how the city was rebuilt and how Europe became a united and thriving continent, now every Sunday I visit her and under the shade of the trees I leave her flowers and talk to her, telling her the news of my life and the great things that modernity has brought us, now at my advanced age I know that soon I will meet her again and when that time comes I know that she will welcome me with open arms, a kiss on the cheek and her bright gaze full of deep tenderness.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCg43AbXDuHD2o1pSFmw9t6dCJZXRjDbN9aPZzKb2txM6rGEuPnKkx8GfXnLduM6tAzK3DNLBdCNF2RY6M647qH2B1qbjaJ97h6csSDeEmwq9rE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency