HOSTILE TERRITORIES (Eng-Esp) Micro story

pexels-brett-sayles-6612027.jpg
Image Source

Luck was a precious balm, not having luck is as terrible as walking among alligators. At least the eyes are points of contact in the dark. You can fall into the jaws and be devoured unless you are lucky. This kind of armor that folds and folds like an old sweater.
When you've worn out your luck, that's another matter. Without it you're just as likely to get hit by a satellite fragment or get struck by a stupid lightning bolt.
Night was approaching and despite the noises made by the dog, I threw myself over the jungle as if following the trail of some cunning scavenger animal. The gun went off and that was when luck took its last breath. I almost died.
When I was totally exhausted, I fell into a kind of bear trap, which shattered my leg at the calf. I felt the joyful flow of blood. It was only a matter of time. I used all my strength to pull my leg out of the steel claws but in vain.
The night was quiet and then I smelled the unmistakable smell of roasting meat. The Indians had a unique way of roasting quail. On Sundays I would march to the outpost where they used to butcher the birds. I knew some of the raccoon chiefs from my father and participated in their revelry. They seasoned their meats with the zeal of kings. Strange aromatic spices now returned me to my condition of a bled soul. So I did the most foolish thing possible, I took a piece of green wood and began to eat it as if it were part of the quail, I lay down on the grass and began to look at the stars and savor the juicy meat. Before long I could pass someone and surely free my leg before the blood and my future nostalgia ran out.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

pexels-brett-sayles-6612027.jpg
Image Source

La suerte era bálsamo preciado, no tener suerte es tan terrible como pasearse entre caimanes. Por lo menos los ojos son puntos de contacto en la oscuridad. Puedes caer en las fauces y ser devorado a menos que tengas suerte. Esta especie de blindaje que se repliega y se dobla como un viejo sweater.
Cuando has gastado la suerte, ya es otro tema. Sin ella es tan probable que te caiga un fragmento de satélite o termines fulminado por un estúpido rayo.
La noche se acercaba y pese a los ruidos que hacía el perro, me tiré sobre la selva como siguiendo el rastro de algún animal carroñero y astuto. El arma se disparó y fue cuando la suerte dio su último suspiro. Casi muero.
Al agotarse totalmente, caí en una especié de trampa para osos, que me destrozó la pierna a la altura de la pantorrilla. Sentí el alegre fluir de la sangre. Era cuestión de tiempo. Use todas las fuerzas para sacar la pierna de las garras de acero pero fue en vano.
La noche estaba tranquila y entonces sentí el inconfundible olor a carne asada. Los indios tenían una forma única de asar las codornices. Los domingos marchaba al puesto de avanzada donde solían descuartizar las aves. Conocía por mi padre algunos jefes mapaches y participaba en sus jolgorios. Condimentaban sus carnes con afán de reyes. Especies aromáticas extrañas que me devolvían ahora a mi condición de alma desangrada. Por lo que hice los más tonto posible, tomé un trozo de madera verde y comencé a comerla como si fuera parte de la codorniz, me recosté en la hierba y comencé a mirarlas estrellas y saborear la carne jugosa. Dentro de poco podía pasar alguien y de seguro liberar mi pierna antes de que la sangre y mi futura nostalgia se agotaran.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now