On the Lunar surface ~ Entry for the Shadow Contest/SMASh

Some years ago I was walking at the seashore. It had been hot for many days in a row, and the water level had dropped noticeably. It is always very windy at that particular beach, and the sea waves had managed to carve beautiful ridges in the sand. As the sun was setting, the low angle of its rays was making the shadows long.

I had lots of photography gear with me, including my old DSLR with a removed IR filter from its sensor. Also, I had my pouch of filters. One of them is supposed only to pass fairly long-wave infrared light, 950 nm, which is at the limit of what ordinary camera sensors can capture. For comparison, human vision can only reach up to about 720 nm. At the other end of the scale, our eyes can reach down to about 380 nm typically. Anyway, I am not here to teach you physics today.

Here is my entry to the Shadow Hunters Contest - Round 219.

image.png

It was actually challenging to take the photos since, as I said, the camera sensor is not able to capture light with such a long wavelength well. I had to use a fairly long exposure, and sadly, if you zoom to 100%, both photos have some motion blur. But at this resolution that I have uploaded, they look just fine.

image.png

Sadly, my title is a lie, I have not been to the Moon, but the deep shadows resemble the Lunar surface.

image.png

I think I used a 50mm lens, but I am only guessing that it might have been the Takumar. I have others at that focal length, and time has wiped my memory about the gear.

CameraCanon 60D
LensTakumar 50mm f/1.4
FilterIR 950 nm

The photos and the story are posted on my other social platforms, too.
https://linktr.ee/neurodivergent_ai

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency