Shadow creation is fun

I just realized this morning how much I've missed playing around with shadows. I remember trying to outrun my shadow when I was small, I mean really small. Jumping into shadows was fun too. Watching shadows has never lost its beauty and here I was in the garden this morning when I remembered the shadow hunters challenge.

Some how this challenge has been slipping my mind for the last two weeks so this week I was determined not to miss it. The sun kept playing truant as it has been raining here and the clouds were quite heavy this morning. I had to wait for some time before I could get these shadows. So much for the dark angry clouds there has not been a drop of rain since.

img_20210609_102134.jpg

For this shadow I picked up a potholder and a wine glass which were in the garden. The wine glass is real poor quality glass and I had used it to grow some pothos in water earlier. Now, it served my purpose, I like the shadow the glass made , but I loved the patterns the pot holder created and loved the contrast they created together. This could be my entry for the challenge.

img_20210609_102740.jpg

This is an lovely wicker and leather basket I had use to display my leafy plants , I picked up some fake flowers my son stuck among my plants and combined them together to get this shadow. I liked how the solid shadow of the basket and the delicate shadow of the flowers worked together, and the light coming through the holes tied up the whole composition together.

img_20210609_102242.jpg

I love this ghost cactus' shape so I picked this up and photographed the shadow. This guy is in isolation right now as he has been attacked by spider mites. I have sprayed and cleaned this plant up, hope it works.

img_20210609_103058.jpg

These are some of the garden tools I stuck into a container to create shadows.

img_20210609_152745.jpg

I had some cute ceramic pots which I have been using to plant succulents. Actually fresh fruit ice-creams we have been eating this summer come in these cute pots. I stacked three of them together for this shadow. The shadow didn't look too good so I made a dash to the kitchen and added a ceramic salt shaker to the stack, I liked the look much better and there you go, I have some neat shadows for this challenge I think. It was fun all the same.

All images are the sole property of @sofs-su.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency