Walking Between the Fish Ponds

Today, I went for a walk with my son near fish ponds in the mangrove area in Perancak village again. It was a bit hot when I started walking across a wooden bridge. The sun was still high as it is only 4 PM. Nevertheless, we kept on going.

bridge.jpg

The bridge look very attractive with the sun shining on it. I wouldn't surprise if there were many people, especially the youngsters, who come here and took photos of the bridge.

bridge_2.jpg

Walking over the bridge, I could see the fish ponds across the bridge. That's where we were heading. Underneath the bridge was a small river which ended up in a bigger river that connected to the sea.

bridge_4.jpg

My son was not interested in the bridge nor the river. He was captivated by little fish that could go out of water and "walked" on the mud and also the colorful crabs. He asked me if he could get down to the river and catch the fish or the crab. I told him about the swamp could be a bit dangerous if one did not now his way there.

crab.jpg

mangrove-2.jpg

He understood, and we kept on walking across the bridge toward the fish ponds.

We went on walking and exploring the area of the fish ponds. There was a narrow path in front us that we walked on. In our left and right there were fish pond. I think they were fish ponds, but there were not so many fish I saw, only little crabs.

My son lost interest in the view especially because it took time for me to take photos. As we proceed in the path, he found out that there were grasshoppers on the grass. That would keep his mind occupied for a moment.

pond_4.jpg

Here are some more photos of the ponds that I took when I was there. It look like the ponds were newly built, that's probably why there were not so many fish yet. The water one of the pond even was crystal clear that the bottom was visible.
pond_11.jpg

pond_6.jpg

pond_13.jpg

pond_17.jpg

I saw some people there became curious with what they were doing. Were they trying to catch some fish or crab? I went walking to get nearer to them. For few meters I could see they held a fishing net.

My son, however, was a bit faster than me. He ran to find out what those people catch. I laughed by myself seeing his body language was like a supervisor or a boss when checking what those people catching in their fishing net.

mangrove-42.jpg

Those people talked, and they sounded unhappy. No wonder, they only catch little crabs and little fish. It's hard nowadays to catch good fish, I heard them saying so.

Finally I ended up at the end of the ponds. Beyond the ponds were mangrove forest the connected to the river. There was a small bamboo bridge used by the fishermen to walk on to get to where their boats were parked by the river. I decided not to go there, it's a bit too slippery and risky.

river.jpg

From there I walked back. My walk in the fish ponds and the mangrove was over, then we went back home.

me_2.jpgWalking back home.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency