At the Besakih Temple | My Entry for SMASh Contest Round 316

Besakih temple finally beckoned me yesterday!

After what felt like an eternity (thanks, Covid!), I was eager to experience the temple's revamped layout that everyone's been buzzing about on social media. Last year, the Bhatara Turun Kabeh ceremony – basically, a giant Balinese homecoming for the gods, happening annually on the 10th full moon on the Balinese calendar– slipped through my fingers.

This year, though, a mix of curiosity, anticipation, and pure excitement fizzed in my belly.

We set off at 7 am, bracing for traffic jams and a battle royale with fellow worshippers. After all, it was still Eid break, and Besakih can get crazy crowded. But to our surprise, the drive was smooth sailing, and the crowds were manageable.

It felt like the universe was whispering, "Go forth, grasshopper!"

Here's a photo I snapped right after entering the temple grounds. The sun cast a long shadow behind us, almost like a divine spotlight. Speaking of spotlights, have you guys heard about the #ShowMeAShadow contest by @melinda010100?

This pic is definitely a contender! So, if you're a shutterbug like me, be sure to check out her weekly photo challenges.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency