Shadow Hunters Contest/SMASh Entry Round 190 - A Cricket .. I Think!

This is my entry in the Shadow Hunters Contest Round 186 which is hosted by @melinda010100! You can learn more about the Shadow Hunters Contest and how to enter HERE!

Well, it's either a cricket or a grasshopper and it does definitely have a shadow! My first photo is my entry that I did an edit on. I added some additional photos along with some edits as well.

shadowhunters10-19-2021-1ok.jpg

A cricket is smaller than a grasshopper with longer antennae so I think that this was a cricket that my husband spotted on some steps that led part-way up the Sideling Hill Mountain Ridge in Washington County in Western Maryland. It was approximately an inch long so I'm happy my husband saw it and pointed it out to me as we were walking back down the steps. I think I might have stepped on it otherwise and missed capturing it and its shadow. Besides feeling bad if I had stepped on it!

shadowhunters10-19-2021-2ok.jpg

shadowhunters10-19-2021-3ok.jpg

As soon as I saw it I thought to myself what a nice shadow it had on those very bright sunlit steps.

shadowhunters10-19-2021-4ok.jpg

shadowhunters10-19-2021-5ok.jpg

My husband and I were looking for some Autumn colors which were not showing up yet. However, we still found some breathtaking views and some lovely shadows on our outing.

shadowhunters10-19-2021-6ok.jpg

shadowhunters10-19-2021-7ok.jpg

This is my last photo along with a small collage of edits that I did on it. Hope you liked my photos and edits of this cricket (or grasshopper) and its shadow?! 🙂

shadowhunters10-19-2021-8ok.jpg

shadowhunters10-19-2021-9ok.jpg

Thank you @melinda010100 for the Shadow Hunters Contest, thank you @annephilbrick for judging and thank you to all of the sponsors as well!!
All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency