Show Me A Shadow 190 | It's The Outdoor Season

IMG_20211017_105946-01.jpeg

Howdy Shadow Hunters?

It's been a long time; I almost cannot recall the last time I joined the fun here in this community. Life's been pretty hectic and time just seems to pass by so quickly. The week is over before I know it. While I always remember to take every opportunity to snap some shadow pictures for this community, I always fail to post them and they get buried in my phone's gallery.

Anyway, enough of the lame excuses. Let's get down to business.

Getting Better Everyday!

The weather here in the UAE has been improving as the days pass. It was significantly cooler and breezy today in particular so the kids and I spent a lot of time outdoors.

After breakfast, we went outside to get some sunshine! Yes, finally, some sun without getting toasted.

We also started to put out the garden chairs so that we can lounge here and just feel the breezy air touch our skin.

Wherever mom is, you'll find the youngest there.

Hmmm, I cannot complain. I love him to bits and I love that he loves to cling with me. I know he'll get over me in a few years when he grows up. He'll not hang out with me anymore because he'll find other things to better spend his time with. Aww, I get sad just thinking about that.

So for now, let me cherish these moments, including these times when he lets me make him the subject of my shadow photography. Yikes, I forgot to tell him that I was only taking photos of his shadows and not of him! LOL.

Camping Season

These coming months will be the camping season again here in the UAE. The pleasant weather, an escape from the scorching heat, entices the people to go out and have some fun. How about some camping in the desert?

I'm not sure if we will be able to go out to the desert camping sites soon, but for now, we will just enjoy it here just outside our house.

Garden chairs and barbecue stand are ready!

Garden chair.

Last weekend, we had a small impromptu barbecue party with some of our neighbors. We recently met a few of them (after living here in the villa for almost 3 years) and since then, we have been hanging out here in our small space just outside the gates.

Barbecue Stand.

Playing with Fire

Despite the breezy morning, the sun was shining brightly that my daughter decided to get her magnifying glass and play with fire.

She got a stick which she tried to cut by burning using the magnifying glass.

She eventually succeeded and we proceeded with our present Science lesson (simple machines) while she could not help but notice the shadows moving fast. It was only a matter of a few minutes until this sunny space below got covered by the shadow of the wall across it.

IMG_20211017_110453.jpgIMG_20211017_110405.jpg

Flowers, Flowers!

Thanks to our old neighbor who gave us most of her plants when she moved out of the villa, we now have some flowering plants in our garden. We mostly plant vegetables in our garden so these flowering plants are a welcome addition.

Here's a pink bougainvillea - that's one of two. The other is apparently white bougainvillea. Initially, I thought the other pot didn't have flowers but upon checking today, I saw that they have yellow (yellow-green) flowers.

IMG_20211017_110251.jpg

Another flowering plant that she gave us was this rose. It has small flowers, but its bright red color really makes it stand out.

Oh, before I forget, this rose picture here below is also my entry to the Show Me A Shadow (SMASh) Challenge.

IMG_20211017_110106-01.jpeg

How about you? How's the weather treating you over there at your side of the world? Is it encouraging you to spend more time outdoors too?

When you go out there, remember to take some amazing Shadow photos and share them here at the Shadow Hunters/SMASh Contest Round 190!

Until next time!

arrliinn footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency