A dove came a visiting - Reflection Hunters Contest~Round 54

There was a noticeable absence of all kinds of birds when we moved here to our beach retirement home 7 years ago. Our goal to attract honey birds and seed eating birds worked a treat once we planted shrubs and set up feeders. Where there were no birds a variety of all kinds of birds now visit so often that I consider them among my pets just like the green tree frogs and the large brown resident grasshopper.

Amongst the many birds there are the peaceful extra sensitive doves, the champion eaters of the wild bird seed. I assumed that any dove flying inside was never on the cards as they are far too anxious and flighty.

How wrong was I?

...........................................

You see, a couple of days ago I just happen to be sitting lost in thought near the kitchen writing a post when a fluttering wing noise caught my attention. Looking up I was amazed to see one dove standing amongst the tray parts of the coffee machine and the washing up brush drying in the window box. I had to laugh as it was actually standing calmly and very comfortably on one part of the coffee tray.

While I berated myself at missing the dove flying in, not all was lost as there was still a golden photo opportunity outside looking in.</center.

Getting this close for a photo of dove not flying away was a treat and felt extra thrilled to see my photo was full of reflections. As I deciphered the photo I saw the reflections of the fence and house next door reflecting back the glass/screen sliding door to the deck and the white outdoor shutters on the deck!

What a great triple reflection whammy that took place by chance!

Here is a close up shot of the dove showing the ring of intricate spots around its neck and complex patterned layered feathers. They are really pretty birds! It is my entry photo.

new_note.jpeg

Being this close to a very still dove was too good a moment to miss and really I had the biggest urge to strike while the iron was hot as the probability of a dove visiting again is very low. So why not take advantage of the situation and take an ever large photo?

new_note.jpeg

My last photo of the dove shows the 'real life' size of the dove is the first one I took before my adventurous creativity took over.

new_note.jpeg

But, I knew that the poor dove would be feeling highly anxious and uncomfortable. It was a part of its DNA after all. So I put my hands on the outside of the glass of the window box and as was expected it lifted off and flew out the open door onto the deck.</center<

Will it be back ran through my mind? Probably not but then another unsuspecting dove might be.

.........................................................

reflections.jpeg
This perfect reflections photo was taken by @brittandjosie, sending accolades.

shadow_hunters.jpeg
Acknowldeging the wonderful @melinda010100 for bringing the Shadow Hunters Community to Hive and wish to acknowledge the ongoing contribution by so many like lovely @annephilbrick and lovely @ogalvita.

new_note.jpeg
Thanks to the Mr Nice Guy photographer @shasta.

........................................................

Just for to finish off, here is a photo of the dove in the window box taken inside the kitchen. Interestingly it did not show any agitation at me being so close. Maybe it knew that I would rescue it after I took my photos. The dove just needed to be patient! Anyway it has to know that my hubby and I would not hurt it as we provide its seed everyday.

new_note.jpeg

9401e50e_ea2a_4e47_b629_342de51ce68f.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency