Architecture Moments™ 1: Palace of Versailles

VERSAILLES 01.jpg

Warm greetings Hive!

I'm thrilled to welcome all of you to the maiden episode of Architecture Moments™! As we commence the year 2021, I thought this would also be the perfect opportunity to onboard and launch my very own signature brand on the Hive blockchain. With my brand's primary intent of featuring our various human experiences, relationships, and interactions with our favorite built environments, our world's remarkable works of architecture, interior design, furniture design, urban design, and environmental design projects would be specially highlighted because they are definitely worthy of our attention and appreciation. Here's why:

VERSAILLES 02.jpg

While it took me a long time to compose this quote's beautiful words, this relevant saying was actually the result of a long-overdue frustration I had since architecture school. As students. we were only taught 3 essential principles in designing the ideal building: aesthetics, stability, and function. There were no educational initiatives that touched on the experiential and sensual aspects of the industry - which I felt was a truly vital component to the mix. No wonder, most people have not developed the needed connection with their built environments and don't really care about their immediate physical surroundings.

I personally created the Architecture Moments™ brand to help solve this looming problem. This movement has always been dear to me and was crafted to become a collective venue where we could embrace more awareness for our significant relationships with the various architecture and design environments. Since we constantly interact with these built spaces on a daily basis, shouldn't we make it a more productive, pleasurable, and worthwhile human experience?

Are you with me?

Sincerely,

ERNE
@storiesoferne


Have you been inside a real palace before? What could be the feeling of owning a home as massive as a castle? How would you desire to experience what it was to live like royalty? Well, today I'm going to give you a personal tour of one world-famous building where kings and queens used to call their abode. Join me as I walk you through a number of visual scenes and narratives as we travel back to a time when excessive decorations, oversized spaces, and lavish lifestyles were the trends.

Fair warning though, Please don't be surprised if you'll see me in most of the pictures in this publication. Not that I did it on purpose, but these are the only available and suitable photos that I've captured during this particular trip. As a grand opening and pioneering article for my brand of content, this will be a long blog post, so your utmost reading pleasure and patience will be much appreciated. (No worries, my succeeding articles for this particular brand would be shorter.) Many thanks in advance for your continuous support!

In this first episode of Architecture Moments™, we're going to journey to France and visit one of the most luxurious castles in the world: the Palace of Versailles also recognized locally as Château de Versailles.

How To Reach The Landmark?

My flight landed at the heart of what is considered the most romantic country on Earth: Paris. As this is an extremely popular destination for tourists, it's important to have lots of planning beforehand. I was fortunate to have a good friend who was a resident of this city and was willing to show me around the famous attractions. So that obviously lifted a sizable portion of the huge burden on my shoulders when it came to starting from scratch on the travel itinerary. This gave me a sigh of relief!

"I will personally drive you to the Palace of Versailles," was his eager response when I asked him if he could take me there. This was one of my sought-after destinations. Thus, who could refuse a delightfully tempting offer? I remembered wearing the broadest grin on my face on the way to meeting my Parisian connection.

VERSAILLES 03.jpg

It took us approximately 20 kilometers (12.5 miles) by car to reach the landmark heading southwest from the city of Paris. Along the route, I was mesmerized by both historical remnants and modern landscapes of French heritage and culture plus the incredible diversity of locals, visiting tourists, and foreign nationalities who invested their presence in this part of the world. The hypnotic scent of flowery perfume, the gorgeous sight of fashionable men and women, and the distinct sound of their charming language completed the overall welcoming experience. It seemed the entire interaction was similar to a dignified European who was embracing me tightly with a warm hug.

"What a marvelous first impression! I haven't even reached my destination yet." I thought. But little did I know that there was more to come. What initially impressed me was merely the tip of the iceberg. I was in for a real treat!

Let's Talk about History

Before taking you through the exquisite halls of this magnificent edifice, let's first unwrap its distant past for a while. Did you know that the Palace of Versailles was the ultimate crowning glory of King Louis XIV? He was also known as Louis the Great of the Sun King and was the longest-reigning monarch of a sovereign European country. His influence ruled for 72 years and established France as a dominant power on the continent of Europe. Because of its historically-rich background, the entire complex of the Palace of Versailles and the adjacent Royal Gardens are now a UNESCO World Heritage Site and are the second most-visited landmarks by tourists and locals alike, next to the Louvre but on top of the Eiffel Tower.

Moreover, this luxuriously massive chateau together with its grand royal gardens was the official abode of French kings and queens for 3 generations from 1682 until the start of the French Revolution in 1789. Every monarch made significant contributions with several years of successive improvements on the building construction to transform the whole complex into what it is today.

VERSAILLES 04.jpg

This royal mansion and the surrounding estate are exemplary examples of French Baroque architecture that adheres to a design concept called "creation by division" - an array of repetitive patterns of large windows embedded in the foundational principles of Baroque Art. The entire floor plan and layout of the royal palace revolves around the king's bed which is the central focal point. Influential architects and designers who were commissioned for the construction of this colossal project included Louis Le Vau, Jules Hardouin Mansart, and Charles Le Brun.

The Palace of Versailles has been considered as one of the most outstanding legacies of 18th-century French sciences, arts, and architecture. This has converted Versailles, as a result, into a progressive and prosperous urban community near Paris.

Welcome your Majesty!

It was a beautiful and sunny day the minute I arrived at the palace gates. The weather radiated scorching heat on my skin, but it didn't matter because of the cold breeze that blew simultaneously all over the royal grounds. The balanced climatic atmosphere that greeted me and the other guests was ideal for a first-time visitor like me!

As far as my peripheral vision could stretch, my eyes immediately bulged the instant I realized how huge this astonishing mansion was. Yet, what captured my immediate interest were the gigantic red metal arcs that sprouted out of the concrete pavement! I guess they were not part of the original plans of the palace complex but were erected during more recent times to serve as an emblematic decorative element at the entrance.

VERSAILLES 05.jpg

In close proximity to this towering structure was the Equestrian Bronze Statue of King Louis XIV himself riding a horse that had an equally dominating stature to greet the arrival of dignitaries, distinguished individuals, and other royal families. It stood as a valuably memorable tribute to the man who was the core driving force behind it all.

VERSAILLES 06.jpg

In spite of the extravagant grandeur you see today, the Palace of Versailles had humble beginnings. This building was born as a simple hunting lodge and was the king's private residence before it was fully reincarnated into a royal estate. Hence, the statue of the king on the horse would stand as an iconic symbol to portray the location's modest origins.

"Come on Erne, let's go!" My companions shouted to me as it was already time to walk towards the golden-coated entrance gates.

Enter Elegantly like a Monarch

If I was one of the royal guests who was invited to this palace, it wouldn't take long for me to notice the tremendous amount of effort invested in all the elaborate details that exhibited a majestic welcome. My eyes didn't wink and remained wide-opened as I continued gazing at the Honour Gate, the main entrance to the royal estate. These entrance gates were crafted with wrought iron bars with golden cladding and framed the emblem of the Royal Arms. On both sides, I was also fascinated by the statues of 2 lovely angels which added to the beauty of the entry fence.

VERSAILLES 07.jpg

VERSAILLES 08.jpg

After a few steps inside, I was suddenly greeted by a vast open space also known as the Ministers Courtyard, termed as such because of the 2 elongated ministerial buildings situated on both sides. I strolled for some time around the entrance grounds and pretended to be a king as I looked at the surrounding vicinity in all its splendor.

Was I impressed? Precisely, who wouldn't be?! "This is how a residence for kings and queens must look like! A majestic welcome suitable for your royal highness!" I smiled as these thoughts lingered on my mind.

VERSAILLES 09.jpg

One of the important spots inside the estate that would immediately catch my attention was the Royal Chapel, It was the tallest building there and towered over the other nearby edifices.

VERSAILLES 10.jpg

According to my travel guide, it would be the very first place on our tour of the interior spaces of the complex. As there were a lot of accompanying tourists during my visit, I took it easy at my pace and slowly embraced all the wonderful elements of the environment while I walked towards the sacred location. There was absolutely no reason to bite my nails, chew my lips, and frown. The total experience was proceeding according to plan!

Meditate at the Sacred Chamber

There was an abrupt change in temperature as I entered the Royal Chapel. It was obviously already becoming cooler inside and was a great relief contrary to the hotness outside. Because the inside rooms were massively spacious, they created a bouncing effect for all sorts of sounds. I could clearly hear the echoing chatter of people from a distance and the recognizable conversations of others nearby. However, that didn't disturb my private peace as I continued enjoying the tour.

VERSAILLES 11.jpg

A sumptuous feast for the senses!

Everywhere I gazed, there were luxury and extravagance highlighted on the lavish decorations, ornamental elements, and textured details! The Royal Chapel was filled with various stone carvings on its imposing walls and columns spanning 2 levels. The lower floor was intended for ordinary courtiers while the upper storey was reserved for the King and his royal entourage. Its high ceiling was beautifully adorned by gorgeous handcrafted paintings that depicted scenes of the Blessed Trinity - God the Father heralding the Descending of the Messiah, the Resurrection of Christ, and the Coming of the Holy Spirit upon the Virgin Mary and the Apostles.

VERSAILLES 12.jpg

As I looked up, my eyes were deeply fixated on these amazing works of art and provided the appropriate ambiance to easily connect with our Divine Creator. This placed me in the mood for intense reflection as I closed my eyes for a short prayer before I carried on with my walk inside the palace.

Moreover, royal weddings and baptisms were also held here until 1789. This sacred building was the last edifice to be constructed during King Louis XIV's reign and was a tribute to Louis IX of France, his patron saint and family ancestor.

Pass through the Flowing Passages

The royal chateau had numerous hallways and corridors that led to various rooms. Depending on the room's degree of importance, the sizes of these passages would vary. The more significant the area, the bigger the paths leading to them. I've never been inside a huge castle before, so I kept scratching my face and rubbing my chin while I was trying to find my way through the labyrinth of spaces. Fortunately, I had a handy map that guided me within the vast interiors.

VERSAILLES 13.jpg

On the other hand, there were also several staircases that headed towards the upper levels. These access points were works of art in themselves as they were handcrafted with ornate blue and gold decorative iron balustrades and wooden handrails that were smooth to the touch.

VERSAILLES 14.jpg

Being an Architect, I lingered there for a while and studied the construction details of the staircase. "These skillfully handcrafted products are incredibly remarkable even with their limited building technologies during ancient times!" I told my companions as I repeatedly shook my head from left to right in disbelief. Nevertheless, they were still ultimate masterpieces in their own right!

Savor Unexpected Encounters

Among the valuable features I've noticed within the palace were the architectural designs of special nooks, corners, accents, and fireplaces where a couple or a small group of people could commune and socialize. Isn't that an amazing idea?

VERSAILLES 15.jpg

Some of these particular areas had either a painting, sculpture or a large mirror overhead and lounge chairs or benches on the floor levels. All these design elements provided the ideal spot where the royal family or other individuals could have a quick chat, engage in secret conversations, or just spend the day relaxing.

VERSAILLES 16.jpg

VERSAILLES 17.jpg

VERSAILLES 18.jpg

I was also fascinated by the sheer number of busts and statues being exhibited within the long and winding halls. Some of them resembled members of the royal family but most of them portrayed King Louis XIV. These were intricate sculptures and were life-like in their appearance. Needless to say, this was a monarch's official residence, thus it's simply understandable.

VERSAILLES 19.jpg

One of my favorite architectural accents were the nooks with the huge mirrors and the fireplaces. I could just imagine how the burning flames provided the needed warmth during a cold winter's night. I could also picture the crackling sound of burning wood as it gets charred by the fire.

Enjoy the Visual Pleasures

As I continued my leisurely stroll inside the palace, I was immediately drawn closer by the glorious sights of massive paintings and protruding murals! They were everywhere - from walls to ceilings and even on column surfaces!

VERSAILLES 20.jpg

VERSAILLES 21.jpg

As there were countless galleries and related wall artworks everywhere, the more they raised and curved my eyebrows plus caused the gaping of my stiff jaw. So many wonderful productions by the well-known masters of the arts! It was frozen music and was certainly a magnificent sight to behold!

VERSAILLES 22.jpg

Likewise, there were also plenty of colorful portraits of royal family members, monarchs, and other distinguished men and women that adorned the palace walls. I was short on time to view them one by one yet, I was impressed by their dignified postures and how they've dressed themselves up for the artist to paint their poses.

VERSAILLES 23.jpg

"Well, any lookalikes?" I jokingly smiled and gestured to my companions as they were also busy staring at the marvelous portraits.

VERSAILLES 24.jpg

VERSAILLES 25.jpg

A couple of paintings that truly mesmerized and captivated me were the ones inscribed on the ceilings. They were massive and it must have taken a lot of skill and patience for the artists to achieve such marvelous works of art! (How long could you keep focusing on the ceiling surface with your head titled upwards? A mind-boggling task indeed!)

VERSAILLES 26.jpg

VERSAILLES 27.jpg

VERSAILLES 28.jpg

VERSAILLES 29.jpg

VERSAILLES 30.jpg

VERSAILLES 31.jpg

Among the numerous collections of paintings, there were others that displayed their distinctive characteristics due to their frame shapes and sizes. I'm pretty sure it took so many years to create them and let alone, install them on where they're currently located.

VERSAILLES 32.jpg

VERSAILLES 33.jpg

My favorite gallery of paintings and artworks was the Museum of the History of France which depicted all the glories of the country. It was a special hallway where these epic stories of wars and triumphs including the French Revolution and were arranged according to their historical timelines. I saw various heroes in their splendor, and of course, the painting of the victorious coronation of Napoleon was one of the core highlights of this museum.

Congregate with the Elites

From there, I walked into the Hall of Mirrors also locally called the Galerie des Glaces (1678-1689). This luxurious room was considered the most famous space within the palace complex.

VERSAILLES 34.jpg

VERSAILLES 35.jpg

This renowned hall was where several historic events occurred and was the official venue where the Treaty of Versailles was signed, a significant global event that formally brought the First World War to a close.

VERSAILLES 36.jpg

I felt like a dignitary walking on its polished stone floors and meeting with other royalty, statesmen, and courtiers. With elaborate ceiling details, huge crystal chandeliers, beautiful lighting fixtures held by female sculptures (also called Guerdirons or candle holders), and expansive arched windows that allow natural sunlight to flood the interiors, the said space was the perfect setting to hold such important affairs. As I strolled along the passageway, my physical height seemed to have become taller because of the elevated stature the space has rendered to its guests.

No wonder the Hall of Mirrors was the favorite passageway of King Louis XIV where his royal powers could be displayed in majestic fashion to signal excellent impressions to his visitors.

March with Royal Style

There are many grand hallways within the royal palace where you could stride like a monarch. I took a slow walk along the spacious corridors and imagined how the original occupants would have experienced passing through these paths.

VERSAILLES 37.jpg

VERSAILLES 38.jpg

At the same time, I had this strange chilling sensation of eeriness that spread rapidly through my bones. It was as if the spirits of the former inhabitants were trying to show me around their estate. Well, this is not the time to talk about haunted stories, but perhaps I just misunderstood the experience as a feeling of nostalgia. Who knows?

Rest Well with Assured Protection

My next stop on the tour itinerary was the king and queen's royal apartments. These strategic locations were at the heart of the chateau and were accessed from the Hall of Mirrors. These were their private sleeping chambers where I could take an intimate glimpse of their inner sanctum. The place was obviously lavish and unbelievably huge! I've never seen a bedroom as big as this! It's even possible to construct a complete house with the spatial layout provided!

VERSAILLES 39.jpg

In here, courtiers could witness the king having dinner alone at his table in front of the fireplace. This special area was called the Grand Couvert and was a ceremonial room designed for this sole purpose. There were also several suites with designated rooms housing other ceremonial activities such as the waking up and sleeping rituals. These were full of paintings and were adorned with ceiling artworks showing male figures. The monarch's bed laid below a golden carved relief that symbolized the country of France watching over the king. The warm atmosphere emanated by the wooden materials and golden and brownish color themes was an appropriate setting fit for royal slumber.

The queen's sleeping chamber, on the other hand, had a feminine touch. There were flowering motifs in most of the wall panels and had several paintings and other artworks on both walls and ceilings depicting female figures. Her private sleeping apartment had a similar layout as the king's apartment with each suite having 7 rooms.

VERSAILLES 40.jpg

As the leading woman of the royal estate, the queen also enjoyed almost equal honor and privilege as the king as shown in the overall design of her sleeping area. I would immediately feel at home if I was a lady due to the soft, graceful, and female-themed design elements in the said space.

Admire Breathtaking Panoramas

During my tour of the spacious interiors, I also had the opportunity to peep through the large glass windows and look at the outside views. And there it was! Again, my jaw dropped as I was stunned by the breathtaking scenes of the Royal Gardens also known in French as the Jardins du Château de Versailles.

VERSAILLES 41.jpg

VERSAILLES 42.jpg

Who wouldn't be impressed by the manicured lawns, perfectly-tailored gardens, refreshing water fountains, finely crafted sculptures, parterres (ornamental flower gardens), plus the supporting elegant features surrounding this majestic green landscape? It was a living and breathing work of art!

VERSAILLES 43.jpg

The Royal Gardens filled the entire horizon and was a spectacular panorama to see! This lush landscape covered around 800 hectares of land and was built in a way to follow the French formal garden style. Some of the popular landmarks within this huge complex included the Grand Canal, Grandes Eaux (spectacular display of all water fountains), Grand Trianon (king's personal retreat), and the Petit Trianon (queen's private retreat).

VERSAILLES 44.jpg

This massive expanse of green scenery is presently part of the Versailles plain and is a national wildlife preservation effort. What's even more amazing is that these gardens are still using the same irrigation systems and network of hydraulics that were used during ancient times. I sat on the concrete steps of the palace for a while to fix my wide-opened eyes at this marvelous wonder of nature in front of me.

VERSAILLES 45.jpg

On the opposite side of the Royal Gardens, I also savored the majestic splendor of the chateau's facade. With its French Baroque architectural style with symmetrical balance and formal artistry, one can truly admire the essence of the monarch's lifestyle and reign during their period. I know I did.

Exit with Graceful Fashion

It was already late in the afternoon. And without being aware of it, around 6 to 7 hours had passed by. Well, when I started the tour in the morning, I didn't even glance at my watch or was conscious of the time due to the fact that I was totally fascinated and immersed in my personal experience with the Palace of Versailles and the surrounding Royal Gardens.

VERSAILLES 46.jpg

However, I still had an hour or so to spare for me to complete the finishing touches of my itinerary and have a final look at the estate. Tears were slowly trickling down from my eyes as I smiled widely because of the overwhelming feeling of satisfaction I felt at that moment.

VERSAILLES 47.jpg

VERSAILLES 48.jpg

Hence, I spent the time admiring all the beautiful details of the exterior facades, lovely sculptures on the grounds, the gushing water of the fountains nearby, and other decorative elements that I've missed. Everything was a glorious sight, and I couldn't ask for more!

My Parting Words

Whew! That was indeed a long, tiresome but worthwhile day! My mouth yawned and my throat was clearly dry as I quickly grabbed a can of cold beverage. Care for a drink? I continued drinking to quench my thirst while marching towards the exit gates. My tour of this iconic landmark was coming to an end.

VERSAILLES 49.jpg

"Absolutely no regrets! This was one of the priceless experiences I've ever had with an astounding work of architecture!" This was what I was thinking on my way to our vehicle for our trip back to Paris.

VERSAILLES 50.jpg

The Palace of Versailles plus the Royal Gardens is undoubtedly an unprecedented feat of architecture, human craftsmanship, and engineering genius. Its architectural character is well-defined and embodies the design principle of excess in decoration, overflowing details, and extravagance of the arts. This is purely understandable as this was the norm during the height of the classical period.

Personally, I wouldn't dream to live in such a lavishly massive mansion. Even if I had the extra financial budget to build one, it's just not practical for me! I'd rather prefer a decent-sized property where I can enjoy a simple and uncluttered standard of living. Nevertheless, my overall memorable experience of this royal estate gave me an excellent taste of what it was about to rule and live like a king!

#Hive, what are your thoughts about my story?


APLUSD CALL TO ACTION 02.jpg

An Active Member of the OCD Incubation Program


SOE HB AUTHOR BIO  ROUND BW PIC.jpg

IT IS IN THE ENJOYMENT OF THE BUILT ENVIRONMENT'S
VALUABLE WEALTH OF HUMAN LIFE EXPERIENCES THAT
ARCHITECTURE BECOMES TRULY SIGNIFICANT.
@storiesoferne

ARCHITECTURE MOMENTS  HIVE BLOG POST LOGO.png

© 2021 @storiesoferne All Rights Reserved


Originally posted on STORIES OF ERNE. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency