Neon London - Accentuation or Abomination?

IMG_6535.jpg

Hey Architecture + Design, in support of finding out about your wicked community I thought that I would ask a question what you think about "new" neon being integrated into "old" structures!

I took these a little while back at christmas time just before the last lockdown.

The streets were mostly empty which is always sad to see but I guess it did make the beauty of these buildings stand out a bit more too me. notice how they've accentuated the natural victorian achitecture it may be quite garish to some but I think theres something quite right about what they've done specifically here with the neon, I'm a massive fan and feared a while ago it had died off for being "Cheap looking" so I'm really happy its made a resurgence in the last few years.

Now whilst I would not think this is appealing if it was a permanent fixture, I do think its quite eye catching from an advertising standpoint. (but if you must know have it my way I'd just have the bare bones structure showing only to show off the beauty the architects so meticulously designed it for all those moons ago 😂)

Let me know what you think, garish or orderly??

Keep Safe,

H

IMG_6534.jpg

IMG_6536.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency