Architecture + Design: Vorontsovsky lighthouse

Architecture + Design: Vorontsovsky lighthouse.

Probably, since Adam and Eve were expelled from Paradise, one of the main occupations of people has been the construction of structures for various purposes.

Yes, then, they could use the caves, but the desire to live and work in comfort, to feel safe, prompted people to build houses, fortresses, bridges, and other structures for various needs: pyramids, palaces, fortresses, sheds, barns, smithies and lighthouses.

It is about lighthouses that I want to talk about today.

Sailors setting out on the open sea needed something to show them the way to the shore, to their home.

For this, they began to build tall structures with a system of mirrors and a light source at their top.

This is how the lighthouses appeared, which went down in the history of world architecture.

I think you know the history of the Alesandrian lighthouse, one of the most famous, which has been compared to one of the wonders of the world.

But, today, we will talk about a more modest structure, which can be seen in the harbor of the seaport of Odessa, Ukraine.

This lighthouse is called the Vorontsov lighthouse.

Today we can see a white, twenty-six meter high tower with a red top, built in 1953.

Architectural style:

I find it difficult to define this architectural style, but it is definitely close to primitivism.

The functionality of this tower comes first.

Yes, it should be noted that the functionality of architectural structures. always comes first.

Every architect, first of all, thinks about the functionality of the structure and its purpose.

The purpose of this structure:

Transmission of a light signal to a distance of up to 15 nautical miles, as well as a reliable shelter for the installation of a sound-signal, anti-fog installation.

History:

This lighthouse is the great-grandson of the lighthouse that was erected in the bay in 1815. That lighthouse was made of wood.

Later, in 1863, a cast-iron tower was erected on the site of the wooden lighthouse.

All these lighthouses were called - Vorontsovsky lighthouse.

In these photographs, made by me in the Odessa port, you can see this architectural structure, which has become one of the symbols of the city of Odessa.

1DSC01501.jpg

Is it worth stopping your gaze on the lighthouses and talking about them as a heritage of architecture?

This lighthouse has inspired many writers and poets to write famous literary works, this is, a reliable summary, lol.

1DSC01502.jpg

I do not know, when I stand on the pier and look at the lighthouse standing alone in the sea, I feel sad and I remember the prisoner - the Count of Monte Cristo, who was locked on a small piece of land in the middle of the sea in a stone tower.

1DSC01480.jpg

During the construction of this lighthouse, many important points were foreseen. The path to the lighthouse is not just an embankment road, it is a breakwater that reliably protects the port during severe storms.

1DSC01479.jpg

If you stand on the pier of the Odessa sea station, you will see the lighthouse from anywhere.

It stands out strongly from the forest of industrial structures of the seaport.

1DSC01515.jpg

Today, even harbor cranes have become an integral part of the architecture of a port city.

1DSC01503.jpg

The small, former point on the left hand, in this photograph, is the Vorontsov lighthouse, which gives hope to the beacons for a quick return home.

1jeltDSC01538.jpg

I think that soon, we will walk around the city of Odessa and see other architectural sights of this city.

Author @barski
Ukraine

For my publications, I do not use stock photographs, it is fundamentally important for me to use photographs that I have made with my own hands for publication and I can name them - authorial work.

DAILY EARNINGS

You can earn BITCOINS hourly and support me by registering using my referral link: https://freebitco.in/?r=14720154.

You can earn FREEDASH hourly and support me by registering using my referral link: https://freedash.io/?ref=101792.

You can earn FREEBINANCECOIN hourly and support me by registering using my referral link: https://freebinancecoin.com/?ref=124174.

You can earn FREE-DOGE hourly and support me by registering using my referral link: https://free-doge.com/?ref=40631.

You can earn FREE-LTC hourly and support me by registering using my referral link: https://free-ltc.com/?ref=87607.

Fast Bitcoin withdrawal to a bank card Ukraine and Russia from the #Hive-Engine.

Verified by me Currency exchange.

Thanks for your support!

You can go to our blog on the Hive platform by clicking on the bee.

bEEEEEEE.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency