Katre na Kawayan/Bayog - A Traditional Bed of Ilokanos (Bahay Kubo Living - Scaled Model)

20210905_202902.jpg

Greetings!

Welcome to the third edition of this series. The first edition of this series is about building a chair and the second is about building a table and this series will be about a piece of furniture that I came to love when it comes to sleeping (after taking lunch) because of its cool temperature even in the summer, it is called "Pagiddaan" in Ilokano and Katre/Kama in Tagalog. Pagiddaan and Katre/Kama can be translated in English as "Bed". Pagiddaan and Katre are used by Ilokanos interchangeably.

The word Katre is from the Spanish word Catre which is a form of bed in Spain. The Philippines is a colony of Spain for more than 300 years that is why the Tagalog language has so many borrowed words from the Spanish language.

Katre na kawayan is a favorite form of bed in my hometown because it provides a cool sleeping experience because of bamboo. Bamboo is known to have a cool temperature even in the summer.

Building the Katre

Just like the chair and table that I built I also first made the feet of the Katre with a size of 2 1/4 inches and 1 inch respectively.

The four feet of the Katre
20210827_164818.jpg

The next that I made is the frame of the Katre itself with a width of three inches and with a length of three inches.

By the way, just like I said in the previous series the basis of the models that I am going to make is based on the size of the chair that I made.

For the frame of the Katre itself
20210827_170613.jpg

The next that I created is for the main body of the Katre where people used to lie down and sleep. It also has a length of three inches.

For the main body of the Katre
20210827_174258.jpg

Putting the Pieces Together

And again for the more fun part of this endeavor, gluing the pieces together. I am still going to use a glue gun (which will be the one that I used until this series reached its conclusion).

The first that I glued is the frame of the body of the Katre

The glued body frame of the Katre
20210827_193855.jpg

Next up are the feet of the Katre. You will notice that after I glued the four feet of the Katre it already resembles a bed (photo below).

Here it is after I glued its four feet, it now looks like a bed
20210827_201003.jpg

And the final pieces to be glued are the ones that people used to lie down in the Katre. After gluing the final pieces it now completely looks like a Katre (photo below)

Here it is after I glued the final pieces of the Katre
20210827_210755.jpg

Here's another view of the Katre after I glued the final pieces of the Katre
20210827_210936.jpg

But after I finished gluing the final pieces it seems to me that there's something missing on the Katre.

While I am looking at it I realized that the missing piece is a "Headrest" or "Headboard". So I made another stick to be used as a headrest/headboard of the Katre and voila it more looks like a Katre than it is without a headrest/headboard (photo below).

FINISHED PRODUCT
20210827_212406.jpg

And here it is with the chair and table that I made a few days ago.

Below is the bamboo that I used in building the scaled model of Katre which is a left-over the bamboos that I used in creating the scaled models of a chair and a table

20210827_162914.jpg



I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency