Opening a tea shop amidst pandemic: The Teacup's First Anniversary Celebration!


THE TEACUP 1ST YEAR
@morenatravels

20211019_151352_0000.png


Can you believe it? It’s been a year since I opened my Milk Tea Shop! Last October 18, 2020, I opened my first ever branch in Duterte Street Banawa Cebu City. Before I opened the milk tea shop, I ventured to Events Party Food Carts, with our cart named JC Carts, as you can see on our Official Facebook Page. https://www.facebook.com/cebuparty.foodcart.54738

Our Event in The Events Place February 2020
IMG_5572.JPG

IMG_5501.JPG

We catered to different kinds of events such as weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, baptisms etc. JC Carts was established in 2018. I was working at that time and I made this a side hustle because money doesn’t grow on trees. I invested in carts so that I can see where my money go to. I love events because I was working in that industry for quite some time. The events were successful during that time. I had several bookings back then. The business was doing great until covid hits Cebu. No one is holding any kind of celebration or gathering. The last event I managed was a first birthday celebration that was held in The Events Place in Mabolo in February of 2020. I refunded the one who made an advance payment for a wedding in May of that year since I can no longer compromise the safety of my crew and myself. I was devastated and sad about what happened but I have to accept and move on.

0001-10306923260_20211019_154427_0000.png

IMG_0703.JPG

It was in May of 2020 that I approached and discussed my plan to my now fiancé if we can open a physical store for our milk tea. I know it is very risky but if you will not take the risk nothing will happen to you. Brave enough, we started the construction around June and finished it around September. We bought furniture, supplies and equipment and made the Grand Opening on October 18.2020. Few people know that behind the success is Sweat 💦 and Tears 😭 Despite many difficulties, receiving many criticisms, I remained optimistic with my goals and my ideas. From getting supplies from local and international suppliers to hiring crew, working on the business permits etc, I struggled hard to manage well. Finally, we made it! During our grand opening, we only had 12 drinks on our menu.

IMG_1197.JPG

IMG_1104.JPG

IMG_9017.JPG

IMG_9028.JPG

IMG_0871.JPG

IMG_2533.JPG

IMG_8978.JPG

IMG_8979.JPG

New Year of 2021 we added more and it became 49 drinks from Original Flavor, Flavoured Milk Tea, Brown Sugar Series, Fresh Milk Series, Fruit Teas and Refreshers. Store hours from that time are 10:30 in the morning until 10 in the evening. Many people are dropping by because they thought our store is owned by Korean because of the unique structure and design, thanks to my fiancé who designed it all. Right now our store hours have changed from 12 noon until 9 Pam due to curfew and manpower. I am happy after a year my fiancé and I operated two branches in a span of one year. I am glad we took the risk. Our Store branches (R. Duterte Banawa and J. Alcantara )are open Monday - Saturday 12 noon to 9:00 pm. You can also order thru Food Panda or Grab Food App. <3

20211019_165035_0000.png

You can follow the Teacup in FB and IG page : https://www.facebook.com/The-Teacup-114993673285664/

Stay tuned for the next post! 😘

20210824_215338.jpg

Joycie Kerr | MorenaTravels

HI I AM JOYCIE KERR AND I LIKE TO TRAVEL THE WORLD, COME FOLLOW ME AND LET'S TRAVEL THE WORLD TOGETHER

If you like her content, make sure to follow her and upvote her posts to show some love. You can also reblog if her travel posts made you happy.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency